Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Nana Mizuki – Exterminate July 26, 2015

Filed under: Nana Mizuki — solarblade @ 6:46 pm

exterminate

Track Listing

  1. Exterminate
  2. Bramble
  3. It’s Only Brave

1. Exterminate

I was surprised that Nana would open this A-side by singing alone with no arrangement before the song actually kicks in.  Once things start to fill the speakers, there’s a lot of electronic beats (ala in similar fashion to “Synchrogazer” and “Vitalization” so this kind of familiarity was happily expected this time around!  While it might not be as heavy or punch-worthy as the aforementioned songs, it oddly fits amongst them and feels like a superb trilogy of this fusion of electronic and her anison sound.

2. Bramble

I wasn’t sure what to expect with a song titled as Bramble, but it’s like the focus is more along the anison/strings side of Nana’s repertoire of songs in the style.  Actually if I had known better, I would’ve said it’s a song that was from the “HYBRID UNIVERSE” or “GREAT ACTIVITY” era of songs.  On here, the song does sound a bit generic and lacks a little energy for me where “Exterminate” managed to pull off better.  I do love the melody of the strings, but not enough to save it.

3. It’s Only Brave

Hmmmm, what I thought would be a ballad, It’s Only Brave is pretty much an anison song down to its core.  Funny enough, some of the chord progression reminds me of “COSMiC LOVE” but without the sawtooth synths found throughout.  The chorus of the track is probably the best part of the song as it’s high-energy and Nana sounds amazing through it.  Overall, it’s still a little basic, but I kind of dig it.

As the 4th of the era, I feel like Exterminate is the kind of normal single I would expect her to release (not so much like the last couple).  The leading song is a pretty familiar setting with the synth beats and serious tone, which is something I do love…not as amazing as the others but still good.  It’s Only Brave was surprisingly good and despite the slightly cutesy sound…probably my favorite off the single.  Bramble though felt uninspired to me and just lacked interest…I sense an album soon!

 

One Response to “Nana Mizuki – Exterminate”

  1. Mack Says:

    To be released on November 11, so it’s just waiting now😦


Leave a Reply

