Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kalafina – One Light August 17, 2015

Filed under: Kalafina — solarblade @ 5:40 am

onelight

Track Listing

  1. One Light
  2. Mahiru
  3. Samidare ga Sugita Koro ni
  4. One Light ~instrumental~
  5. One Light ~TV size~

1. One Light

It feels like it’s been a while since Kalafina released a good anison/pop/rock track and with One Light they seemed to find their placing again.  The tune really reminds me of a mix of “sprinter” and “consolation” which is pretty awesome to say the least as they’re songs I love from the trio (or quartet with the former).  The trio seems to really pull this song off and there’s some great parts in there (mostly from HIKARU), but even so this is a pretty cool track, probably my favorite of the era.

2. Mahiru

Of course it isn’t a Kalafina single without that signature ballad and Mahiru marks as that song which might disappoint some who were hoping a for a break away from them.  Despite that, the song is seriously as pulled back as it can get for Kajiura…you know a song that’s only a damn piano as the acting melody while the trio has to use their vocals to get by.  Oddly enough, whoever sung 2nd (HIKARU?) sounded really bad here and really ruined what was clearly a nice moment for KEIKO and WAKANA.  Then it there’s the end which seriously took a minute to get to with the piano…honestly…wth.

3. Samidare ga Sugita Koro ni

Then we get the 3rd A-side and I was surprised at how anison it sounded (I mean not like Kajiura-like, but general anison).  It’s a mid-tempo pop tune and it’s kind of got this head-bopping feel to it, but it’s really a strange mix once you add in the trio and their super vocals.  It’s a song that’s gradually growing on me and the added ~la-la-la-las~ in the later half actually sound really pleasant to me…strange for Kalafina, but a nice breezy song from the group.

As the end their “far on the water” era, I was actually digging this single a bit more than their last couple (not to say they weren’t disappointing though :D).  One Light reminds me of their heavier rock themes out there and it sounded really good to me.  Samidare ga Sugita Koro ni was an interesting concept to listen to and I think I could get into this, but Mahiru was flatout bad…just boring to listen to…With the album tracklist, I’m a bit sad that that the singles used for the best albums (except “heavenly blue) won’t be on the album, but I think I can deal with the 4 A-sides that do get to be there.

 

Leave a Reply

