Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Morning Musume ’15 – Oh my wish!/Sukatto My Heart/Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki August 17, 2015

Filed under: Morning Musume — solarblade @ 4:44 am

2aEPCE7135_TP1A_O_prep.pdf

Track Listing

  1. Oh my wish!
  2. Sukatto My Heart
  3. Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki
  4. Oh my wish! (Instrumental)
  5. Sukatto My Heart (Instrumental)
  6. Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki (Instrumental)

1. Oh my wish!

It’s definitely something when you expect the usual, but with the first A-side…everyone was shocked and yet VERY happy with this.  Not only is that Mizuki, Erina, Riho, and Ayumi NOT singing in this track because they’re the dance group (which means they’re only visually important), Zukki and Duu actually are the main leads while Maachan and Odasaku are the secondaries.  Honestly, everyone has been wanting Zukki and Duu to lead in forever and to see that come to fruition is amazing!  The song itself though is in the same realm as many of their previous A-sides, but honestly with the change of lead vocals, I can let it slide and honestly it’s not a bad EDM song at all either.  Did I even mention that Akane and Oharu have a speaking role in the bridge?  Very energetic and has a lot of fire behind it…awesome song!

2. Sukatto My Heart

The 2nd A-side is also a song that H!P fans are familiar with and it’s the disco-funk styled tracks.  Of the 3 songs, I wasn’t too impressed with this one because it has a lot of similarities with older H!P songs and for some reason “Uptown Funk”.  Of course the usual suspects are leading which after “Oh my wish!” was going to happen anyways.  Still, I can’t seem to be too interested in this one for some reason…it’s just an OK song, nothing too memorable about it.

3. Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki

As for the 3rd A-side, I was surprised that Maachan and Miki were the fronts for the song (well mostly Maachan actually).  The tune is actually refreshing for Momusu though it could easily be paired with songs like “Egao no Kimi wa Taiyou sa” and “Toki wo Koe Sora wo Koe” due to it’s brighter nature and slight mix of EDM.  We even get to see solo lines from Miki, Eripon, Maria, and Harunan which is rather nice for a song like this, but I can’t exactly say I enjoyed Riho here…her voice seemed a bit too distracting (yet Sakura had an amazing low line in the chorus) it’s an interesting song though, but I enjoyed it too.

Momusu’s 2nd single of the year was at least better than their previous single, “Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru/Yuugure wa Ameagari/Ima Koko Kara” in just about every way.  Almost every member managed to stand out on this release and even 12th Gen had a couple bright spots too.  Oh my wish! and Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki were definitely the single’s highlights as one was an energetic EDM track with back members taking the reins while the latter was a little more unique.  Sukatto My Heart isn’t bad, just rather forgettable to me at the moment.  Overall good single!

 

Leave a Reply

