Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

moumoon – It’s Our Time August 21, 2015

Filed under: moumoon — solarblade @ 5:26 am

itsourtime

Track Listing

  1. It’s Our Time
  2. Never look back
  3. IROIRO
  4. I’m Scarlet
  5. Eclipse
  6. Fight Back
  7. cocoon
  8. ICE CANDY
  9. WATASHINOSUBETE
  10. BF
  11. Hello, shooting-star
  12. It’s Our Time (English version) (CD only)

1. It’s Our Time

~We’re all set to have fun~ yeah that’s a really nice and straightforward way to open the album.  The tune is a bit strange because it starts with a lack of bass before YUKA comes in for the first verse and that’s when we finally get it.  I just think it’s a quirky little tune and has its moments, but there’s some better songs from the duo out there.

2. Never look back

Onto the next track, Never look back focuses a little more on Masaki’s acoustic sound and I do tend to like this kind of track.  The chorus does open up to a more synth-centric sound (ala “It’s Our Time”), but I do like the bright sound and YUKA once again sounds chirpy and effervescent altogether and I always enjoy that from her.

3. IROIRO

I feel like moumoon is just trying to be happy-go-lucky (like “SPARK”) with this album so far.  IROIRO is kind of like the previous track but taking a more piano-laced direction (alongside the acoustic guitar).  Add the sparkling sounds from “DREAMER DREAMER” and you basically get this laidback track.  Not bad, but YUKA is in her higher register for majority of it.

4. I’m Scarlet

As the 1st single represented from the album, I’m Scarle was an actual decent track when I first reviewed it.  I’m slightly still melting from this song because it was such a good, relaxing track.  After “IROIRO” though, the light atmosphere is slightly stretching, but I do love the song’s chorus because it just kind of wakes me up and YUKA sings in a stronger tone (and that kind of call and response direction)…still a great song!

5. Eclipse

Then things come to a slow pace with our next track, Eclipse.  This track starts off with some light piano (and other instrumentation) to YUKA’s ethereal voice adding in the spacing between the piano.  It’s a slightly haunting ballad, but the chorus kind of shakes off the dust and adds drums which kind of took out the feeling I got from the verses.  Basically, the verses are amazing while the chorus is somewhat disappointing.

6. Fight Back

With such an aggressive title, I wasn’t sure what I was getting into, but the song is actually an EDM track and strangely I hear both YUKA and Masaki singing together with this really interesting synth melody (and beat).  It’s a simple sounding track, but it’s mesmerizing…just a dreamy vocal melody mixed with electro…is interesting (plus that bridge) that was pretty cool and something I haven’t heard moumoon do.  Cool song overall!

7. cocoon

Seems the EDM continues onto cocoon which is set up to be a stronger club-friendly song and I’m enjoying that moumoon are finally trying new ideas for their songs.  It’s a really cool setting and hearing YUKA do some interesting things (like a speak/rap section and singing in a stronger tone through some parts).  I just found this track epic and sticks out on the album in a REALLY good way.

8. ICE CANDY

This seems really weird that the duo decided to include ICE CANDY (the only new song from their best album…of the same name).  It’s a lot like the stuff featured on that album (mostly takes ideas from “LOVE before we DIE”) with the kind of pop/rock mixed with synths and such.  I wasn’t a big fan of this song mostly because it kind of faded into the album which had some many similar songs.  On this album though, it seems strange to put it after “cocoon” but for some reason I’m able to recall it better here.  It’s a filler track though.

9. WATASHINOSUBETE

As the last new track, I was expecting a little more from a song titled in all caps and no spaces xD.  What we did end up with an acoustic ballad that made “Eclipse” sound stronger and more fulfilled.  YUKA’s voice is nice and the light backing instrumentation tries to lift the song from boredom, but I was just snoozing here.

10. BF

Interesting that they’d only include one B-side here and it’s from the A-side that closes the album.  I find its placement just a tad weird, especially after “WATASHINOSUBETE”, but I could’ve seen it towards the album or even more after “ICE CANDY”.  Sadly, while I did enjoy it on the single, I think it’s just forgetful here because there’s other good happy songs.

11. Hello, shooting-star

The album closes out with Hello, shooting-star and it’s lullaby-esque arrangement is really sweet and relaxing to listen to, but at this point I kind of lost interest in the album and this song had trouble picking me up as the final song.

12. It’s Our Time (English version)

I’m not sure why this was necessary when the song was 80% in English.  It’s the same arrangement and same lyrics except for those small parts where YUKA was singing in Japanese.  Though, I suppose it could be nice to have around for completionists.

Tracks Recommended

  • cocoon
  • Fight Back
  • I’m Scarlet
  • Never look back

Song of Avoidance

  • WATASHINOSUBETE

Ahhh, moumoon’s 6th album just turned out a lot like how I felt with “LOVE before we DIE”.  What I mean the great songs were basically the ones recommended, but the rest was kind of plain and just normal moumoon fare.  I was expecting a little better, but meh overall.

 

Leave a Reply

