Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kalafina – far on the water September 14, 2015

Filed under: Kalafina — solarblade @ 2:21 am

faronthewater

Track Listing

  1. into the water
  2. monochrome
  3. Gogatsu no Mahou
  4. ring your bell
  5. Usa Murasaki
  6. identify
  7. Hokage
  8. One Light
  9. Musunde Hiraku
  10. heavenly blue
  11. Sorairo no Isu
  12. believe
  13. far on the water

1. into the water

Opening the album is a short introduction piece, into the water.  It has an eerie opening with the trio singing in a creepy but cool chorale as the song starts to open a little further.  It’s pretty neat and the mysterious vibe I get from the song plus the random amounts of odd static-like noise is odd but then it just ends rather abruptly…strange…

2. monochrome

Makes less sense as our first full track begins with a similar static-esque feel before the tune opens up to this kind of weird combination of diner pop/rock and accordion-laced arrangement (think of Cirque du Soleil in this case).  I would go on to and say this song has a bouncy feel and a more happier feel to it that I quite enjoy.  I’m liking it somewhat, but I do feel like it could have a little more movement and changes throughout as I feel it stays on the same level through the entire tune.

3. Gogatsu no Mahou

It seems there’s quite a lot of these breezy-anison-pop/rock tunes these days from Kalafina and I ended up feeling the same way with this song.  I mean the acoustic guitar being featured is a nice touch and all, but the song isn’t too much different of songs past from them.  I do really like the strings passage and the bridge with WAKANA hitting those notes were really pleasant!  Not bad, but it’ll definitely need time to grow.

4. ring your bell

As the 3rd A-side from this album, ring your bell is basically “Gogatsu no Mahou” with a heavier lean on some electric guitars, but it has the same air-like quality to it that really stuck out.  I still love HIKARU’s performance through this and it still gives me this sweet, adventurous feel that only a couple other songs do give so it really to me was the best A-side for the album.

5. Usa Murasaki

Our next track begins with a kind of cool, dark, tribal kind of feel (something akin to songs from “Red Moon”).  The kind of slow almost Arabian arrangement really sports the trio in a nice light and they themselves sound so hypnotizing that I’m soooo drawn to their voices here.  I also do love how it builds up more with stronger percussion hits and a more cool feel with even electric guitars thrown in.  Definitely pleasant to the ears and one of the album’s gems!

6. identify

Hey, a rockin’ performance comes next for Kalafina and that’s always a good thing!  HIKARU though really own this song and once again shown a powerful performance all-around (though I do with the other two members had their share in this one specifically).  I’m not sure why but some of the chords and lines REALLY remind me of “love come down”, “Magia” and “progressive” but I suppose that’s a good thing because those 3 are favorites are mine and this one might seriously join them.  Really cool song overall!!!

7. Hokage

Then the album stops suddenly for Hokage (the album’s first ballad).  After the ending of “identify” to just instantly start this track is a bit random and weird, but I suppose we’re on this.  As a piano/strings ballad, Hokage brings a lot more to the table than the ballads that the singles brought in which is obviously a good sign.  I’m loving the kind of depressing vibes and almost dramatic KH vibes it gives me hahah!

8. One Light

Yeah, “Hokage” seemed so out of place being placed between “identify” and this track which was the last A-side released prior to the album!  What I mean is that One Light also has a stronger pop/rock sound to me.  While I have had switched between this and “ring your bell” as favorite A-side, this is a stellar song and has a lot of amazing moments in it!  Despite the anisonness, it’s still a wondeful song and vocally just as!

9. Musunde Hiraku

Oh hi “Eden” and “Mirai”…Yeah, Musunde Hiraku is another effervescent, airy track that has lovely vocals coming from the trio.  Really, nothing much else to really say as the remainder of the track just kind of zooms on by without much effect on its stance.  I mean it’s an alright song overall, but we’ve seen this type of song before as it is…

10. heavenly blue

While I’m still rather bitter about the lack “Kimi no Gin no Niwa” and “Alleluia” being left off, the fact that the best album’s lone new track made it on this album.  Sadly this song seems to be lost amongst the A-side because it’s once again another anison but airy song from the trio and we have a bit too many on this one as it is.  It’s not terrible, but I seem to forget how it goes ater a while lol.

11. Sorairo no Isu

The other ballad on the album, Sorairo no Isu isn’t as grandiose as “Hokage” was, but, it’s kind of folksy arrangement is pleasant and dream-like which is pretty serene!  It flows by pretty peacefully and acts like the aforementioned song as a break of same-sounding songs which is strange but honestly I was hoping this was the case.  Overall, very pretty, not bad!

12. believe

Which leads to the 2nd A-side released and boy does it sound WAY too much like “heavenly blue” and honestly like “One Light” as well.  You know, that same anison pop/rock sound.  I will say that I do love the intro the most of the A-sides, but when it comes to the rest of the song, it just fades into the back.  I suppose by itself and from the single, it was decent, but on the album it sounds so vanilla.

13. far on the water

As the album hits its final mark, we get the title track and boy I’m happy that we get to see some equality between the members (well maybe not KEIKO, but I do hear her a lot more here).  Otherwise, I wasn’t too much into following this song because once again it’s kind of that positive sounding sound this album has been pushing.  I do love the flute solo in the bridge, but beyond that *shrugs*

Tracks Recommended

  • identify
  • Usa Murasaki
  • One Light
  • ring your bell
  • Hokage

Song of Avoidance

  • believe

As we finish off Kalafina’s 5th album, I’m kind of wondering where the magic went with Kajiura’s music.  I do think far on the water is their weakest effort yet.  I think it was because nothing was really connecting the album for me and the A-sides were so anison that it kind of broke off any flow it had (especially having the ballads be the breakoff points between two otherwise similar songs twice!).  There are some winners here, but this just wasn’t an amazing album…

 

Leave a Reply

