Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Berryz Koubou – 1st Chou Berryz September 20, 2015

Filed under: Berryz Koubou — solarblade @ 7:06 am

1stchouberryz

Track Listing

  1. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai
  2. Piriri to Yukou!
  3. Nicchoku ~Geinoujin no Kaiwa~
  4. Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!
  5. Koi wa Hipparidako
  6. Semi
  7. Anshinkan
  8. Kozukai UP Daisakusen
  9. TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY
  10. Bye Bye Mata ne
  11. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai (FUNKY Remix)
  12. Hello! no Theme (Berryz Koubou Version)

1. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai

I’m still surprised a young group like Berryz would debut with a cool song like this!  The album opens up with this song and oddly enough takes a more pop/hip-hop kind of arrangement and works around that.  I’m liking that a lot of this song has a strong beat, but I’m not enjoying how much Tsunku is in this song (couple times, he seems to cover up the girls way too much).  Beyond that, I’m loving how much Maasa led in this song over Risako and Miyabi (figures because there was no lead vocalists when they debuted).  Still, it’s a cool way to kick things off!

2. Piriri to Yukou!

Which follows into their 3rd single (and the one before the album was released).  It is a bit of a stark contrast that the energy of the group went from this cool style of the previous track to some kind of hokey and fun song.  I do love that all 8 members do get a solo line (2 no less!) and I just enjoy listening to this song as it’s just goofy and catchy as hell plus the shimasen parts is so random xD  Awesome song!

3. Nicchoku ~Geinoujin no Kaiwa~

So I guess to kind of split the A-sides a little, we get our first new track in Nicchoku.  I’m not sure how to describe it beyond it’s a funky kind of dance track for the group.  We do see all members get solo lines again and while this isn’t a case where I thought it was nice to hear them, Nicchoku kind of presents at how weak they were as singers when they were in debut because none of them sound that good here especially Risako and Chinami (both had some odd pitches).

4. Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!

Then we move into their 2nd single and while I do deem it as the weakest A-side from the album, it actually sounds decent on the album and cleans the palette after “Nicchoku’s” weird mess.  I do enjoy the summer beach vibes going on in this song and the girls show off a cuter side to them after their cool debut.  It’s definitely a song that’s grown on me with each listen though so that’s always a good thing!

5. Koi wa Hipparidako

As the rest of the album straightens out to be new tracks, we hit Koi wa Hipparidako and it’s another cutesy song for the group, but for some reason in the time period of the group, this song sounds ultimately generic to me and some of the chords oddly remind me of “ALL FOR ONE & ONE FOR ALL” in the weirdest way.  Once again, it’s nice to see Captain, Maasa, Chinami, and Maiha get the first lines of the song, but it does slowly in a way show the hierarchy when the remaining for gets a lot more lines.  Forgetful track, but it seems to be a popular one for the group.

6. Semi

Same can be said for Semi too!  I’m loving that the album has so far not had a strong desire to feature Miyabi, Risako, Yurina, and Momoko at the front.  Right from the start, I was loving the acoustic sound of the track, but then kind of frowning at the layering of the girls’ vocals (sounded really odd to me).  It’s a nice autumn-like song though and the arrangement is pretty pleasant, but I kind of wish this was resung because there’s a lot of straining and yelling in this one and it really doesn’t call for that, ruins the feelings I had lol.

7. Anshinkan

Yup, another concert favorite, Anshinkan has a pop/rock kind of sound to it that would’ve sounded nice back in the 80s or something hahaha!  Not sure what else to say about this one because it kind of flew over my head, but there’s some interesting parts.  In a way, I can’t really say it’s generic because there wasn’t anything to fully compare to it maybe early Momusu, but meh.

8. Kozukai UP Daisakusen

So, this is a song that doesn’t get mentioned much and I can see why.  This song is definitely the weak link to the album for many reasons.  The tune itself is set as a slow reggae tune which wouldn’t normally bother me, but as this is a first album, this might have been a wrong turn.  Second the girls are once again under filters and some slight echo effects and it’s rather frightening to listen to.

9. TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY

I actually was wondering what this one would sound like and I was slightly worried it would’ve been an overly sugary song, but this is kind of sounding a little more serious than other track, but I do like the dance beat and handclaps that flesh out the song.  I think of all the new songs from the album, this one stuck out the best for me…catchy and the girls sound decent without the use of filters!

10. Bye Bye Mata ne

Ending the main songs out, I wasn’t surprised one bit that Bye Bye Mata ne would be a ballad (known more as the song that Maiha graduated with).  It does sound really sad, even though the arrangement sounds a bit more positive otherwise.  It’s a nice track up until the chorus where the girls are a little screechy and a slight bit shouty.  Decent ending though.

11. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai (FUNKY Remix)

Funny how the remix for their debut begins with traffic and then a funky, saxophone-laced arrangement before adding some other funk-based sounds and rhythms.  Honestly, if it wasn’t the melody from the lyrics I wouldn’t have made the connection due to the messy arrangement.  It’s a really bizarre remix and hearing Berryz singing the song just adds to the strange factor…*shakes head*

12. Hello! no Theme (Berryz Koubou Version)

Ending the album, we get a version of this Hello! Project theme.  Originally sung by the trio groups of Akagumi, Kiiro, and Aoiro, Hello! no Theme has never been a favorite of mine and while it is the shorted from this album, Berryz regardless of how they did, this song sucks xD.  I’m not a fan of the repetition mostly and since they do it SOOO much in this song, I grew tired of it.  This one does sound more appropriate for the young Berryz, but still not into it at all.

Tracks Recommended

  • TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY
  • Piriri to Yukou!
  • Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai
  • Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!

Song of Avoidance

  • Kozukai UP Daisakusen

I thought I was going to be impressed by Berryz’ debut album, but 1st Chou Berryz kind of flopped for me.  I mean beyond the fact that we were dealing with members who hadn’t started puberty yet, their vocals were still pretty dodgy and none of the new songs (sans TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY) really impressed me any.  I know in time they’ll get better but damn😄.

 

Leave a Reply

