Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Juice=Juice – Engeki Joshi-bu Musical “Koisuru Hello Kitty” Original Soundtrack November 2, 2015

Filed under: Juice=Juice — solarblade @ 8:41 pm

koisuruhellokitty

Track Listing

  1. HELLO!
  2. Ningen no Sekai e!
  3. Diary
  4. Mittsu no Lulu (Omocha no Kuni ver.)
  5. Shooting Star
  6. Itsumo no Asa
  7. Nakayoki Koto wa Utsukushii Kana
  8. Todoke Todoke Todoke!
  9. Mittsu no Lulu (Ningen ver.)
  10. Ningen no Sekai
  11. Anata ga Wakaranai
  12. Tsubasa Ochiteku
  13. & YOU
  14. Only choice
  15. Todoke Todoke Todoke! (Reprise)
  16. Honto no Kimochi
  17. Good bye Kitty
  18. Ano no Ko Okage
  19. HELLO! (Reprise)

1. HELLO!

Opening the album up, we get HELLO! and yes I bolded 5 of the songs because I’ve reviewed the mini-album.  It opens up nice enough with Karin before the fanfare and cuteness overload takes over the song.  Now unlike the other stageplay albums, there’s a lot exposition and general spoken dialogue which does take me out of the loop with certain songs.  HELLO! though is nice and the slower section with Karin is actually really nice for some reason.  As such, it’s a good opening song, but I’m not sure I’ll remember it after the review (again).

2. Ningen no Sekai e!

Like the bumbling and goofy songs from “LILIUM”, it seems to follow on Koisuru Hello Kitty.  I do like Karin’s intro lines as she has the best cutesy voice.  I think I also hear Yuka singing as well which is pretty cool, but that upbeat section is cut short before spoken dialogue happens.  Though I was thinking it was more of a short song, but in reality, it’s about 5 minutes long:/.  The tune even changes directions throughout and gets more upbeat and poppy but then slows down again.  It’s a little too busy and changes way too frequently to generate a good impression…

3. Diary

At least the next track is short!  Being a Karin solo with some light instrumentation that incorporates harp.  As lullaby-like the song is and the pleasant fact that some of the other girls act as back-up is sweet, I still don’t find the song very much interesting.

4. Mittsu no Lulu (Omacha no Kuni ver.)

After more dialogue, the next track, Mittsu no Lulu begins with some more Sayubee and she gets a song that’s a bit similar with “Ningen no Sekai e!” and once again the kind of bumbling arrangement is just bothersome.  However, I do enjoy Sayuki’s vocals here but I’m not sure if she’s trying to purposely be mature.  I think the fact that Akari, Yuka, and I think Karin doesn’t add much to the song either.  Making the ending be a short dialogue with light acoustic guitar didn’t much help either.  Yeah no thanks.

5. Shooting Star

The second song from the mini-album, I actually liked Shooting Star and for me worked as the promotional tune too.  It’s definitely not the cutest song on the release and I think that’s what worked best for me.  Being a mid-tempo tune with some acoustic guitars at the forefront, I actually enjoyed it.  Yeah, it’s a catchy song too (could’ve been a decent album song).  Honestly, it sounds like an ending theme though haha.

6. Itsumo no Asa

Next up, Itsumo no Asa comes in continuing with some happy-go-lucky acoustics and piano and fortunately Tomoko is singing most of it and of course she sounds great and the upbeat feelings is actually nice to hear (almost giving a nice summer breeze kind of feeling).  It’s definitely an early favorite from the stageplay for sure.  Though I could do without dialogue thrown in.

7. Nakayoki Koto wa Utsukushii Kana

More of that kiddy bounce returns for our next track and funny enough Tomoko is once again at the front and she starts of really strong.  Unlike the breezy sound of “Itsumo no Asa”, this song more off shown Tomoko in a brighter and happier mood and she’s got a voice to have some brightness.  Fun song!

8. Todoke Todoke Todoke!

Another returning song, Todoke Todoke Todoke! is a stark difference from the previous two tracks as it has a more dramatic sound and once again Tomoko has such a powerful voice, but it contrasts with Karin’s girlier voice.  Though it is plagued with a lot of dialogue so it throws emotional value out the window for me.  It’s a good duet song between the two for sure and has a lot of oomph where most of the stageplay lacks it.

9. Mittsu no Lulu (Ningen ver.)

Seems we get a repeat song here with Mittsu no Lulu.  It feels like the stageplay went more of a serious tone after the previous songs so it makes sense this song sounds deeper.  While I’m not entirely sure who’s singing beyond Sayubee…I thnk Aarii and Yukanyan are present too.  Likewise, Sayuki’s vocals are crisp and strong to listen and the groove is pretty solid!

10. Ningen no Sekai

Opening with a lone piano and Karin singing, I thought it was going to be a cuter ballad, but it’s thrown out the window when Tomoko enters the picture and the arrangement goes back to that bouncy poppy sound that’s prevalent here.  It does slow down again, but that’s when it begins to just drag towards the end unfortuantely.

11. Anata ga Wakaranai

Now this song was my favorite from the mini-album due to its more serious sound and it definitely worked because it was such a tune to include Karin, Tomoko, and Sayuki.  To be quite fair, disregarding the dialogue, this would’ve been great on “LILIUM” for sure.  Even Akari and Yuka get a solo here which adds to how powerful the song is.  I definitely enjoyed this a lot!

12. Tsubasa Ochiteku

Following it up with another ballad, Sayuki’s character sounds heartbroken and the emotion is oozing in this song.  While I do like how it turns into this really cool ballad with acoustic guitar and strings/piano and just adds to the emotions all over this song.  It’s a good song if you wanna hear how talented Sayuki is.

13. & YOU

While I am starting to get bored with ballads being stacked next to each other, I do like that we finally get something with Akari and Yuka and while in the main songs they aren’t the most promoted members, this shows more potential for both of them even if this song is really vanilla and plain just being piano & strings.  It is a light song though so it just flies over by my head.

14. Only choice

Yup, ballads aplenty it seems and Karin starts up with some dialogue and then gets into the song.  While I do think the sweeping strings and piano melody is a lot more intriguing than in “& YOU” for sure, I still don’t think it rides high for me beyond some good dramatics from Karin herself.  It’s just once again nothing I’d fully invest coming back to.

15. Todoke Todoke Todoke! (Reprise)

Seems like we get another ballad but it is between Tomoko and Karin and uses Todoke Todoke Todoke! as its basis.  I do like violas here and it has a hopeful kind of arrangement and hearing certain parts of the melody of TTT! is pleasant.  I will say that first time rolling through this, I was about to pass out from boredom…

16. Honto no Kimochi

Which didn’t help that this song was next.  As it was my least favorite from the mini-album, it’s another goddamn ballad.  While it has a little more push than the last couple of tracks, this song still doesn’t do much for me.  I will say that Karin gave a good performance, but I just couldn’t really get myself into it after the buttload of similar songs.

17. Good bye Kitty

Seems like Karin gets another ballad solo but this has some harp and acoustic guitar together.  I have to say, I just wasn’t here at this point and unfortunately Karin doesn’t really make the song any better as her voice takes on a lighter sound.  At least it is a shorter piece at nearly 2 minutes.  Probably the most forgettable of the bunch.

18. Ano no Ko Okage

*sigh* Does this ever get better?  While I do think it is about saying goodbye to Hello Kitty (or something like that), Ano no Ko Okage has mostly a piano arrangement which gives a somber but bright feel.  However, the song doesn’t even begin until midway.  We also seem to get all 5 members involved which is great, but yeah meh…

19. HELLO! (Reprise)

Then it all comes to a close with a reprisal of HELLO! (which opened the stageplay), but it sounds like it’s repeating the same thing since they’re at the same time length so really it might just be a repeat with little changes overall.  I actually think maybe it’s different vocalists and lyrics.  It did try to wake me up, but I was like oh, I’ve heard this already…

Tracks Recommended

  • Anata ga Wakaranai
  • Shooting Star
  • Nakayoki Koto wa Utsukushii Kana
  • Itsumo no Asa
  • Mittsu no Lulu (Ningen ver.)

Song of Avoidance

  • Good bye Kitty

Not even gonna lie, I figured I wasn’t going to like the songs from Koisuru Hello Kitty for the most part after reviewing the mini-album (even though the mini had probably the best choices).  I think the big problem was was that second half of the release being entirely ballads which killed my interest.  Though the rest had its issues like too much spoken dialogue in songs, it actually took me out of numerous songs (weird that it is the only one of the stageplays of recent to do this).  Yeah, I’m definitely not gonna listen to this in full again >.<

 

2 Responses to “Juice=Juice – Engeki Joshi-bu Musical “Koisuru Hello Kitty” Original Soundtrack”

  1. Paru Says:

    Just so you know, the first Mittsu no Rule is basically a Yuka + ensemble song. I don’t think Sayubee gets any solos in it. The second Mittsu no Rule is a Sayubee song though.🙂 Also, Nakayoki Koto wa Utsukushii Kana features Yuka as the main vocal as well. Her character in World of Toys is the God, and in the human world she plays the male sensei, that probably explains her singing in a deeper voice than usual. Interesting how she sounds like KanaTomo like that, huh?

    • solarblade Says:

      Pretty interesting to say the least that Yuka is pulling her weight in the group with the stageplay, wish she’d show off more rather than the trio of the front lol


Leave a Reply

