Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kobushi Factory – Engeki Joshi-bu Musical “Week End Survivor” November 3, 2015

Filed under: Kobushi Factory — solarblade @ 4:40 am

WES_CD+DVD_sleeve_ol

Track Listing

  1. Survivor
  2. Nemuri no Rondo – Introduce
  3. Koko Kara Dashite
  4. Nemuri no Rondo – Doubt
  5. Tsuzuku Omou
  6. Memory
  7. Sayuri ~Prelude~
  8. Nemuri no Rondo – Fluctuations
  9. Sayuri
  10. Sagashidase
  11. Nemuri no Rondo – Lost
  12. Koukai
  13. Nemuri no Rondo – Belief
  14. Sayonara

1. Survivor

Opening up the stageplay is Survivor which was also found on Kobushi Factory’s debut indie single (as the secondary A-side).  While I was expecting it to be slightly different because in the stageplay Maasa had the solo intro and not-so-much Hamachan.  On the single, I was definitely impressed with the really dark and edgy arrangement from Kobushi since fans weren’t totally sure where the group would land and “Nen ni wa Nen” didn’t solidify a genre.  I will say I’m still loving it and am very salty that it might not even appear on a future release for the group because I love the guitarwork and the group sounds pretty badass.  Still an amazing song!

2. Nemuri no Rondo – Introduce

Now on the release we get a BUNCH of interludes which may or may not interest fans.  For me, I couldn’t care less since I already know they’re just used for dance numbers and to kind of stretch the stageplay longer.  Introduce was probably the highlight for me because it was a bit of 70’s psychedelic mixed with the gritty guitarwork.  While I do think of the play when I hear this, by itself (and the other interludes, do make it seem a bit trite).

3. Koko Kara Dashite

Next track up and we get a slower ballad-like song with Koko Kara Dashite, well for a little bit because the angry arrangement kicks things up better.  While I do think the beat and pianowork is making this song a lighter affair.  I also notice immediately that the production isn’t as tight or worked on in comparison to “Survivor” but I can easily see why.  It’s a pretty cool track and a lot of the song is sung with smaller groupings, but I liked it a lot!

4. Nemuri no Rondo – Doubt

Here we are again we another interlude and it continues that dark, psychedelic theme, but it’s not as hard hitting as “Introduce” even though they are at the same length.  Really not much to say here, but I liked the former better as it had more fire behind it.

5. Tsuzuku Omou

Though I think the next track on the album is definitely a good song and one of my favorites.  Actually, for some reason I’m reminded of “Anata wo Aishita Kioku” from the “LILIUM” soundtrack, but I think it’s that marching kind of pulse of the beat that reminds me of it.  Though I’m loving this song a bit more as there’s more intrigue and hearing Reirei have a lot of solos is surprising and she sounds great!  The rest of the group is also sounding good without effects too.  Very cool track!

6. Memory

As a Hamachan and Ayapan solo track, Memory is a quiet ballad in amongst the songs, but I felt that their vocals are pretty unique.  I will say Hamaura’s vocals are kind of unusual to me as her voice is more squeakier in comparison to Ayaka’s more mature and controlled vocals.  Hearing them harmonizing is a bit shaky, but I thought it was nice for the most part.

7. Sayuri ~Prelude~

I do think this is the only case where spoken dialogue happens on the album, there’s a sort-of music-box and small accordion parts, but it seems like it’s only Rio involved here, but like I said, it’s a short interlude.  Interesting to figure why it was included, but I’m sure it’s supposed to make sense with “Sayuri”.

8. Nemuri no Rondo – Fluctuations

Another 40 second interlude (huh, two interludes back to back huh?).  Unlike the previous two, Fluctuations is pretty straightforward as a rock-lude.  Nothing major to really talk about, just another bridge to our next track.

9. Sayuri

Taking from the prelude, the same arrangement kicks off Sayuri and it’s kind of a haunting ballad with the flickering piano melody.  It’s a different kind of song and the light movement in the arrangement is unique.  I do love hearing the members get solo lines (but I don’t think all of them get one, I think it was just Sakurako, Minami, Ayano, Ayaka, Natsumi, and Rei).  It’s a pleasant track though and it’s got some cool unsettling parts too!  Cool song overall!

10. Sagashidase

Then the next track is up next and I’m liking the beat and cool guitar.  I’m also loving that Rei took up a lot of the lyrics in the track as her deeper notes are pretty cool!  Actually I figured she was talented, but she really outdid herself in this song.  It does seem that after a while Sakurako and Minami join in the song for some solo parts before all three come together.  It’s a cool song and I’m really happy to see these three paired up as such.

11. Nemuri no Rondo – Lost

So the 4th interlude is pretty much the most hype of the 5 as it’s fast-paced and hard-hitting as an interlude, but as fast as it came, as quick as it goes and that slightly saddens me because this could’ve been a badass song tbqh.

12. Koukai

I’m surprised that our next song begun with a 40 second piano intro before Hamachan starts to begin singing.  Making it a shorter song on the release, Koukai is kind of the plain-jane song of the release which isn’t so bad, but I’m not really that interested in it lol.  Ayano’s vocals while on pitch, is like Karins where I don’t think it’s suited for ballads honestly.

13. Nemuri no Rondo – Belief

The final interlude, Belief returns us to that weird psychedelic arrangement, but it seems the rock elements are still punching and it included some strings as well giving a really cool battle theme almost which is impressive though once again too short for its own good.

14. Sayonara

As the closing theme (well “Survivor” and Nen ni wa Nen” closed it off, but that didn’t pertain to the stageplay, except the former).  Another ballad at play with Hamachan in front which didn’t interest me much, but after her lines the rest of the group joins in and the tune kind of goes into a mid-tempo ballad which is nice they added more oomph to it.  It’s a decent closer that’s for sure.

Tracks Recommended

  • Survivor
  • Tsuzuku Omou
  • Sagashidase
  • Koko Kara Dashite

Song of Avoidance

  • Koukai

After being terribly disappointed in “Koisuru Hello Kitty”, I was wondering what Kobushi’s stageplay and funny enough, Week End Survivor was pretty badass and fitting for such a group whose sound is right now a bit more pop/rock.  A lot of the songs were pretty good and really gave a cool vibe to this group.  My only problem is that there was WAY TOO MANY interlude here (almost half the album are interludes).  Still without that problem, this was a solid OST and if Kobushi hadn’t already caught my attention after their indies single, then I’m going to be heavily following their careers!

 

Leave a Reply

