Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Nana Mizuki – SMASHING ANTHEMS November 17, 2015

Filed under: Nana Mizuki — solarblade @ 6:57 am

smashinganthems

Track Listing

  1. Glorious Break
  2. Never Let Go
  3. SUPER☆MAN
  4. Angel Blossom
  5. BRACELET
  6. Lazy Syndrome
  7. Koi Uta.
  8. Kindan no Resistance -Extended Mix-
  9. The NEW STAR
  10. Clutch!!
  11. Netsujou no Maria
  12. Ego Ideal
  13. Eden
  14. Ambivalence
  15. Exterminate

1. Glorious Break

Nana hardly ever disappoints when it comes to the opening track and Glorious Break is no exception to that rule fortunately!  It kicks off with this synth/orchestral intro that builds itself for a whole minute before Nana enters the song and the synths back off and the orchestra takes a punch, but then things take an unusual turn inserting some dubstep behind the horns and strings (what an odd mix though).  I do like how Nana still sounds epic with the arrangement switching back and forth.  It’s still no “Avalon no Oukan”, but that’s asking for a lot xD.  Still for the first track, this is really different but really epic!

2. Never Let Go

The album continues on with Never Let Go and I already knew that I was going to love this song with its emphasis on the punches of percussion and neat pop/rock sound!  While I didn’t expect the song to keep at the same time and not be overbearing on the heavy rock song, this was a solid track and Nana gave a powerful performance.  This is already becoming a quick favorite for me on the album and I haven’t even started on the rest😄.

3. SUPER☆MAN

Chosen as the album’s promotional track, SUPER☆MAN I thought was going to be a cutesy, upbeat track and while it does retain a little bit of that charm, the arrangement is a bit mixed with disco and techno beats and some violins too.  I do think it’s a bit slow for a song, but I do like the direction it wanted to take so I appreciate that about this one.  Also the PV…what?😄

4. Angel Blossom

Then we come to our first A-side on the album (specifically, the leading 3rd single).  Back on the single review, I thought Angel Blossom was OK, but quite generic as Nana songs go regardless.  On the album, it is the first of the anison-like songs though so it’s kind of nice to hear, but I still can’t really shake off that feeling that we’ve heard this before.  Though the chords and Nana’s vocals are surprisingly pleasant though so I would say the song is still continuing to grow on me.

5. BRACELET

I love the introduction to our next track, very mysterious and light!  Though once the remaining arrangement enters the song, yeah it’s another one of those songs that remind me of stuff like “PHANTOM MINDS” and “Silent Bible”, but I actually enjoy those songs immensely so this song fits right at home.  The guitarwork is a nice touch to the song and adds to the strings and piano that also accompany the song.  I would say this is a better “Angel Blossom” if it was handled differently.

6. Lazy Syndrome

As the B-side chosen to be added to the album (this one coming from “Angel Blossom”, Lazy Syndrome wouldn’t have been my choice to include (would’ve rather chosen “BLUE” or “No Limit” here).  It’s still a solid choice regardless because it would’ve been my 3rd pick.  I thought the intro reminded me of something from school food punishment, but it lays off that idea once the main focus of the song is introduced.  I enjoy the overall rock content of the song, but there’s something a bit flat in this song when compared to other songs on the album.  Though the rapping section was interesting hahah!

7. Koi Uta.

As the album’s ballad?  Koi Uta. is something else and nothing strong like “BLUE” was.  I think the acoustic/electric guitar mix and stringwork didn’t seem to work very well together and Nana vocally wasn’t all quite there and I felt things was just not connecting for me.  This track just felt draggy the entire time and I couldn’t even remember how it went after just one listen.

8. Kindan no Resistance -Extended Mix-

As the first single released for the album, Kindan no Resistance is the lone song to get some kind of edit on the album and it’s taken from one of her recent tours.  Opening with a really nice orchestral intro and Nana singing some new lyrics, I really love the addition and her emotion is carried out quite nicely before entering the main course.  I still love the embrace of Celtic sounds and her synth/rock style (that’s become a favorite of styles Nana tackles), Kindan no Resistance is still a favorite of mine and with the new intro, the song is that much better!

9. The NEW STAR

Back to new songs, The NEW STAR begins in some odd chords, but then it’s led to an even stranger direction.  Becoming this kind of funky, bass-heavy song.  I also noticed that Nana is singing in a lower register and I welcome the change since she can pull off songs in a deep tone.  I overall feel like the song could also use a speed boost, but this is pretty cool and just stuck out to me on the album with weird things like some ad-libbing during the dubstepp-y bridge.

10. Clutch!!

I would’ve expected a song like Clutch!! to be the promotional song because it’s a more upbeat and pop/rock sound that’s akin to some of the more cuter songs in Nana’s repertoire.  I think it’s OK, but there’s just something lacking in this one for some reason, but it’s not short of energy and spice, but there’s once again that feeling of I’ve heard this before like with “Angel Blossom”.

11. Netsujou no Maria

Seems like return to the anison songs with Netsujou no Maria and really there’s not much to differentiate it from other songs of similar variety.  Once again though, Nana’s lower register is very pleasant and the chorus does save it from sheer mediocrity, but mostly, it’s more of the same as I’ve heard from previous releases.

12. Ego Ideal

Oh!  The piano intro for our next track is really bouncy and upbeat for a song title like this lol.  I wasn’t surprised that the song quickly fizzled out as quickly as it did because almost immediately after the intro, Ego Ideal just kind of became another typical song.  I suppose I do like the piano taking precedence over the arrangement, but it’s like another anison track waiting to be filled up with the typical stylings.

13. Eden

Which kills me further that my least favorite of the A-sides, Eden is up next.  While it does to me strike me as the hardest hitting song with the overabundance of percussion, without it, the song just would’ve fell to the wayside even moreso than it should.  I do also like the chorale in the background in some specific parts of the track giving it this rather haunting kind of feel.  It still doesn’t rank high with me sadly…

14. Ambivalence

The last of the new songs, I thought we were going to get another “Ego Ideal”, but I’m happy we’re getting this light funky song as it shows a little more variation than the album has been giving out.  The groove of the song is really unique and Nana sounds wonderful and the whole laidback feeling I get from this song is really nice and breaks the monotony before the finale.

15. Exterminate

I found it surprising that Nana would end the album with Exterminate and not a ballad (it’s been a while since this has been a case).  Being released as the 4th single, Exterminate is definitely in the same vein as “Synchrogazer” and “Vitalization” which is always a plus to the song itself.  Being very aggressive and full of striking sections, this song is up there with “Kindan no Resistance” as best songs, but this still might make 2nd place.  I still find it strange that it’s the album’s closer, but still a cool song.

Tracks Recommended

  • Kindan no Resistance -Extended Mix-
  • Exterminate
  • Never Let Go
  • BRACELET
  • Glorious Break

Song of Avoidance

  • Koi Uta.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to get out of SMASHING ANTHEMS, but it seems to have affected me the same way “SUPERNAL LIBERTY” had which was that it started out pretty strong, but then faded out to essentially boredom during the second half (with some exceptions both ways).  I also felt like half of the A-sides were pretty bland too which is odd, but oh well.  Not bad, but she’s had much better.

 

One Response to “Nana Mizuki – SMASHING ANTHEMS”

  1. Vivian Says:

    I admit that I haven’t been a huge fan of Nana-chama’s recent A-sides either. Listening to this right now so haven’t gotten to the later tracks yet, but I agree with you on the first few tracks. Enjoying this album so far. Nice review!


Leave a Reply

