Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Momoiro Clover Z – Hitotsubu no Egao de…/Chai Maxx ZERO January 15, 2016

Filed under: Momoiro Clover Z — solarblade @ 2:21 am

1209_h1-h4_sainyuko_ol_cs4

Track Listing

  1. Hitotsubu no Egao de…
  2. Chai Maxx ZERO
  3. KONOYUBI TOMALe
  4. Hitotsubu no Egao de… (off vocal ver.)
  5. Chai Maxx ZERO (off vocal ver.)
  6. KONOYUBI TOMALe (off vocal ver.)

1. Hitotsubu no Egao de…

You now it’s that time of year when MomocloZ brings out their yearly wintry song and Hitotsubu no Egao de… is slightly different by having a strong rock influence in comparison to past endeavors.  I mean the tune is nothing to fully write home about, but I did enjoy the melody and combined chords of the members, but it feels like only one member is singing the track.  Eh…  Though I will say the bridge of the song that brings in the horns was a nice surprise…overall not bad!

2. Chai Maxx ZERO

Seems the other A-side is a new version of Chai Maxx which was from their 3rd Major single.  Actually I’m not een sure if that’s the case because beyond the title name, there’s not much connecting the two.  This one has a bit more idol in the sound, but also somewhat of a dance track too.  I do think the chanting of the title makes the song stick onto ya, but this is pretty different.  Is it maybe a remix?  I’m not sure, but it was a decent song too!

3. KONOYUBI TOMALe

I feel like I want to write down tamale for some reason whenever I see this title.  I was expecting a ballad for some reason so I was surprised that it changed when I started the song up.  Actually, I wasn’t sure what to think because it was hard to describe it from the slightly Country vibe, to the filtered vocals of the group and the chord progression of the song.  There’s a feeling of raw whenever I listen to this and it’s surprisingly refreshing, I might like this the most from the single.

 

 

As the group’s 2014 limited Christmas single, this one was pretty interesting to say the least.  Hitotsubu no Egao de… is a nice Xmas song for sure, one of the better ones (of memory).  Chai Maxx ZERO wasn’t what I thought it was going to be and it’s also quite decent if there’s not much tying to the original.  The best song though is KONOYUBI TOMALe as it stands out from the single in a refreshing way with the more acoustic sound and unusual vocal tricks.  Sad that none of these songs will make an album (unless they do a best album).

 

Leave a Reply

