Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Momoiro Clover Z vs. KISS – Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina January 15, 2016

Filed under: Momoiro Clover Z — solarblade @ 3:17 am

Yume_no_Ukiyo_ni_Saite_Mina

Track Listing

  1. Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina
  2. Rock and Roll All Night
  3. SAMURAI SON (KISS edition only)
  4. Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina (off vocal ver.)
  5. Rock and Roll All Night (off vocal ver.)
  6. SAMURAI SON (off vocal ver.)

1. Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina

I’m not even going to deny that I was shocked when I heard that MomocloZ would collaborate with the Detroit rock band, KISS…wow, I would’ve never expected such a twist.  With two combined forces, I was curious to what was going to ome out of it and I was happily surprised.  KISS always sounds good with their aggressive rock sound.  Momoclo sounds a bit out of place, but that’s to be expected, but they do have KISS do some shouts behind the members.  I mean, it’s easy to get used to the girls and the song has a lot of cool moments throughout.

2. Rock and Roll All Night

Now this is a song I personally grew up listening to (and roughly one of KISS’ most well-known songs).  I wasn’t sure how Momoclo was going to handle it because they’re also singing it entirely in English and hearing idols try to give that edgy tone like how KISS does is pretty strange to me and hearing them singing the chorus is just unfortuately hilarious.  I do commend that KISS still musically sounds great, but never let Momoiro touch this song.

3. SAMURAI SON

While I kind of remember hearing this when KISS released their best album out in the states, I wasn’t aware that they did a version alongside Momoclo (despite that this is only found in one edition of the single).  Unlike the other songs, KISS are taking up the spotlight whereas Momoclo has background lines and I actually enjoying this cut the most from the single…it’s just an epic rock track with some Japanese flashes!

 

 

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this single and I came out if it still kind of curious.  I will say that the main track, Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina was a pretty awesome song and featured both acts quite decently.  SAMURAI SON also seemed to work as well kind of switching spots with Momoclo and it’s pretty badass!  However, the only flaw is the KISS cover itself, Momoiro is kind of out of place and the mixing with the metal sound just didn’t work there and came off as silly.

 

Leave a Reply

