Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Momoiro Clover Z – Hakkin no Yoake March 27, 2016

Filed under: Momoiro Clover Z — solarblade @ 3:18 am

hakkinnoyoake

Track Listing

  1. Kono A, Hajimari no Z -prologue-
  2. Tougenkyou
  3. Hakkin no Yoake
  4. Mahalo Vacation
  5. Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina
  6. ROCK THE BOAT
  7. Kibou no Mukou e
  8. Country Rose -Toki no Tabibito-
  9. Imagination
  10. MOON PRIDE
  11. “Z” no Chikai
  12. Ai wo Tsugu Mono
  13. Mokkuro ni Naru Hate
  14. Momoiro Sora

1. Kono A, Hajimari no Z -prologue-

Like “AMARANTHUS”, we also begin Hakkin no Yoake with an introductory track with Kono A, Hajimari no Z which is surprisingly long for just an intro at above 2 minutes.  It begins with a nice music box-like melody before the group joins in and the song opens up with synths.  The kind of diluted sound from the girls and overall ethereal tone is pretty neat and ends real nicely.

2. Tougenkyou

Though I wasn’t expecting the sudden movement to Tougenkyou that brings us into this 80’s New Wave sound which is pretty awesome!  The heavy amount of keyboard and synths are cool and if there was anything it reminds me of is something from Charisma.com.  I was a little bummed there was some spoken lines throughout, but the song is refreshing and the synthy goodness made a quick mark on me!

3. Hakkin no Yoake

Surprises me that “AMARANTHUS” lacked a title track.  Though like the third track of that album, Hakkin no Yoake is also a 6 minute track and it’s also quite relaxing of a song at the beginning.  It’s actually startling that like “Monochro Dessen” it’s also a slow burner of a track and by the time the song hits its footing, it deviates from the aforementioned song to become a dance track!  It’s quite a nice switch of moods.  Long song, but totally worth it!

4. Mahalo Vacation

Chosen as the track to promote the album, Mahalo Vacation, I thought was going to be that typical cookie-cutter summer song, but knowing this is MomocloZ, I expected something random.  I love the intro of the song and then it turns into a pretty funky track.  Though there are some small clips of wanting to be a idol summer track, but I feel that slap bass and quickly-sung lyrics keep the song cool and exciting!  Ok, I’m loving this song quite a lot now!

5. Yume no Ukiyo ni Saitemina

Next up is the group’s 3rd A-side for the album and it was a collaboration with American classic rock band, KISS!  While back then I was always bewildered by mixing two different worlds together, I thought the pair did an epic job with this song and kept both sides quite straight!  While I do love “SAMURAI SON” more than this track, I have to say this is the next best thing…one of the standout tracks!

6. ROCK THE BOAT

Back to some more new tracks, ROCK THE BOAT caught my attention, but I’m not sure exactly why (maybe because it’s in all caps).  The tune is pretty nice by having a slight nod 60s music.  I also enjoy the ladies singing lower parts here and the chorus is pretty damn catchy too.  It’s fun and just has the right amount of spaz in it 😀

7. Kibou no Mukou e

Then we hit our first ballad with Kibou no Mukou e and well, it feels like ballads and Momoiro don’t really get along with each other.  I kind of like some of the melody that’s from the keyboards, but otherwise I feel like the track itself is just quite plain-jane.  It does have a nostalgic tone to it, but I’m not sure why.

8. Country Rose -Toki no Tabibito-

The song opens with what I would maybe say is a clock beat, but the song grows into a dance track with a more creepier side to it which is pretty neat and welcome!  I actually liked this track a lot because it just goes everywhere and the group sound great and kept up with is finnicky arrangement and twists and turns throughout!

9. Imagination

Welp, I suppose the album needed its kiddie-like song like what “Saboten to Ribbon” was to “AMARANTHUS”.  I think I do somewhat tolerate this song a little better because the arrangement while childish, is pretty exciting and takes up some different palettes throughout!  I will say things are a bit hyperactive and wild, but this song is actually OK.

10. MOON PRIDE

The next two tracks seem to be paired together due to them being both tied to animes, the first is MOON PRIDE which was a theme to the reboot of Sailor Moon!  It feels like it’s been forever since I’ve listened to this in full!  Of the A-sides, I actually enjoyed it the most I think…  The group is definitely fitting in the girly role and the song’s arrangement would suit alongside other rockish tracks they’ve done.  Interesting song for sure!

11. “Z” no Chikai

The other song, tied to the Dragonball Z series, “Z” no Chikai was the 5th and final A-side before the albums released and it hit hard!  I mean the guitar riffs are just hardcore and yet there’s this feeling of Japan throughout mixed in with some anison thrown in.  I have to say this was such a badass song for the group to tackle and they’ve managed to do it quite well!

12. Ai wo Tsugu Mono

Moving onto the last three tracks, we kick it with Ai wo Tsugu Mono and this would be the throwaway song because it’s just a bit normal of a song on this album.  I kind of sense a little bit of R&B, but it’s overwhelmed by the idol instruments and the chorus which is pretty standard.

13. Mokkuro ni Naru Hate

Though, this track is definitely the oddball song because like “5 THE POWER” from their 2nd album, it’s heavily inspired by 80s rap and it shows throughout the whole song.  While I feel like a MomocloZ song with rapping is nothing without Akari doing it, they tried it and it’s way better than the above mentioned track for sure!  The arrangement is what caught my attention with a cool beat and low bass sound.

14. Momoiro Sora

The album closes out with Momoiro Sora and it’s an interesting style of a mix of funk and jazz and a slight bit of a ballad.  The track is quite something and an interesting way to close the album.  This track is OK, not as extravagant as other songs from the album, but I would say it’s OK for the most part and concluded the album in a nice way.

Tracks Recommended

  • Mahalo Vacation
  • Tougenkyou
  • MOON PRIDE
  • Hakkin no Yoake
  • Mokkuro ni Naru Hate

Song of Avoidance

  • Kibou no Mukou e

So we have the 4th album and after “AMARANTHUS”, I had little hope that the other released album would be much better, but after listening to Hakkin no Yoake, I have to say this was a much stronger album at the end of the day and made me curious to why the effort was placed here more so than on their 3rd.  I have to say, this was what I was expecting from MomocloZ for sure…definitely their best album yet!

 

Leave a Reply

