Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kyarypamyupamyu – KPP BEST June 4, 2016

Filed under: Kyarypamyupamyu — solarblade @ 6:19 am

kppbest

CD 1 Track Listing

  1. KPP ON STAGE
  2. PONPONPON
  3. Cherry Bonbon
  4. Tsukema Tsukeru
  5. Kyary ANAN
  6. CANDY CANDY
  7. Fashion Monster
  8. Kimi ni 100 Percent
  9. Furisodation
  10. Family Party -album mix-
  11. Super Scooter Happy
  12. Yume no Hajima-rin-rin -album mix-

CD 2

  1. Ninjari Ban Ban
  2. Mottai Night Land
  3. 5iVE YEARS MONSTER
  4. Kira Kira Killer
  5. Invader Invader
  6. Kanzen Keitai
  7. Tokyo Highway
  8. Crazy Party Night ~Pumpkin no Gyakushuu~
  9. No No No
  10. Mondai Girl
  11. Cosmetic Coaster
  12. Sai & Kou

1. KPP ON STAGE

No surprise that Kyary would have an intro track to open up a best and it’s the technically only new track from the first disc as well!  It starts off with a bang with a nice mix of synths and guitars surprisingly.  Though the latter leaves quickly as Kyary starts to spell out her name.  After that it’s just music, but it closes things off quite quickly with a fanfare (which is random).

2. PONPONPON

As I said above, the rest of the first disc is actually done chronological from her major debut.  Kicking things off with a selection of songs from “Moshi Moshi Harajuku”, we have PONPONPON which is still argubly her most recognizable song in her discography (due to its popularity in the West).  Jumping back in time to re-listen to this track is just nostalgic for me (I mean it hasn’t been that long since this was released right?).  Being also the first song that Nakata had a hand in, this song to me had a certain MEG feel, but with cuter, but nicer vocals.  I do like the catchy beats and Kyary sounds so peppy and adorable!  It’s always been a favorite of mine!

3. Cherry Bonbon

I wouldn’t have thought a 2nd song would be represented from her debut mini-album, but if it had to be any, I’m kind of happy that Cherry Bonbon was that song!  While I love “PONPONPON” for the nostalgic vibes and catchy hooks, Cherry Bonbon is more for the beats here.  It has a certain 80’s vibe to it and Kyary while still emitting a cuter pitch, the song’s arrangement has a Nakata-esque cool vibe to it.  Though I still feel like Kyary says ~Jelly, jelly, jelly bonbon~…sounds tasty too…>.>

4. Tsukema Tsukeru

Jumping into the next batch from “Pamyupamyu Revolution”, Tsukema Tsukeru was the first A-side she released and after such a popular song that was “PONPONPON” she tried to strike gold again here with this song.  The fact that this time there’s a bit more of a smooth sound to go along with toy piano, it was an odd mixture and while I enjoyed the song back then as the next thing after her debut, it has somewhat lowered itself as Kyary released more and more songs.

5. Kyary ANAN

Which is very odd because while my adoration for the previous song dropped, our next song (which is a B-side from that single) ended up growing on me after a LONG while of listening to it.  It’s definitely a frantic song and it reminds me of an intro to a 90’s cartoon for some strange reason.  A lot of the song is pretty much repetitive lyrics and a grating kazoo sound, but when Kyary does sing actual lyrics, it’s bright and energetic.  Yeah, it might not be a song for everyone, but I do put on a smile everytime this song comes on!

6. CANDY CANDY

After the lukewarm “Tsukema Tsukeru”, I had wondered what Kyary was going to do with her 2nd A-side and she fixed everything up with CANDY CANDY.  Slowing things down a smidge, the tune is a bit more controlled and the use of guitar in the backing track is pretty interesting (something Nakata should use more!).  The atmosphere is still cute, but it’s smoothed out so it doesn’t feel like you’re being fed spoonfuls of sugar.  Which is felt so obviously being after “Kyary ANAN” here.  I really love this song and the PV was just as fun to watch too!

7. Fashion Monster

Moving to the “Nanda Collection” set of songs, we see a giant step of change from here on out starting from Kyary’s 3rd A-side!  I mean immediately right from the start, the tune is a lot darker but still retains Kyary’s cuteness.  After the previous tracks, this song was a fresh sound for her and the mix of cute and creepy was just awesome and Nakata did a great job making this one!  Still one of my all-tine favorites!

8. Kimi ni 100 Percent

It took me a while to remember this one because while it was an A-side (and used for Crayon Shin-chan) it never got a PV (as far as I know) and was quickly covered up by its sister A-side “Furisodation”.  It anything the song highly reminds me of “Tsukema Tsukeru” due to the lighter nature of the song, the use of piano/toy piano, and the overly cute vibe I get overall.  It’s a little bland and forgetful to me.

9. Furisodation

I think of the poppy cute stuff she released around this time, Furisodation is probably my favorite because it’s got a lot of interesting moments and the heavier amount of percussion and piano and less synth properties are actually refreshing.  It does run a little one-note and the arrangement can come off a little busy, but I thought the tune was fun and bright and left a nice impression on me, even today still!

10. Family Party -album mix-

Well, I thought the first disc was going to be chronological, but the only switch is between the two tracks coming up!  Because Family Party was the 3rd A-side she released for “Pikapika Fantajin” so I was a bit surprised to see this next and not “Ninjari Ban Ban”.  Even moreso that this is the version from the album!  I have to say though, the updated mix is a lot more electronic than the original single edit.  While the song is more of the cuter side of things, this was also more fantasy-like which is nice to hear.  I still don’t know why the chronology broke off here, but it’s whatever.

11. Super Scooter Happy

Then we jump back into the “Nanda Collection” album with this capsule cover (odd because “Mi” was probably meant to be here as it was the album’s promotional track >.>).  This song, a capsule cover is pretty cute and the muted sax/synth mix makes me think of Sesame Street for some reason.  It’s OK and at least it isn’t the worst of the disc lol.

12. Yume no Hajima-rin-rin -album mix-

Then the first disc closes off with the album rendition of the 2nd A-side released from “Pikapika Fantajin”.  I don’t feel like the changes from the single version of the song was as noticeable as “Family Party’s” was so I don’t really focus on this one much.  I also found myself kind of slightly bored of the song because it was a little empty sounding.  Though I will say that it was appropriate as the ending of this disc because the PV was showing how far she’s come since debut.

CD 2

1. Ninjari Ban Ban

I’m not sure whats with the second disc and it’s order, but it does clear out towards the end.  Going back again to the final two “Nanda Collection” A-sides, we begin the second disc with Ninjari Ban Ban!  Like with “Fashion Monster” before it, there was a heavy theme this time around and that’s with ninjas and Japanese culture in and of itself!  Kyary is really having fun with this one and I love the beat and chorus here.  I just think it’s one of her standouts from her best album!

2. Mottai Night Land

Then we jump forward again, but this was what started the “Pikapika Fantajin” era off.  As this was supposed to be related to “Fashion Monster” by theme, I didn’t feel it as strongly as the aforementioned song, but the song’s cutesy atmosphere is fun to listen to and there’s some parts where it feels like Halloween!  Kind of like “Family Party”, this song maybe could’ve used a little more oomph, but I think that’s why the PV was so interesting.

3. 5iVE YEARS MONSTER

Then we jump into one of the two new songs on the release!  I wasn’t sure what I was getting into with new songs, but hearing gritty guitars and a spazzy arrangement throws me off just a little bit.  Maybe it’s a little messy, but once Kyary is singing with minimal instrumentation, it’s pretty nice.  I do like the more rockin’ atmosphere, but it feels weird on an album with mostly electronics.  It’s also a bit short being under 3 minutes and all…

4. Kirakira Killer

I will never understand why they use the original and not the extended because this song is much better in that version (which is lucky that it’s on the 3rd disc).  Kirakira Killer is such an energetic song for Kyary and I was waiting for a song like it (because the other “Pikapika Fantajin” singles were kind of disappointing).  It’s got a stronger melody and that chorus is fantastic!  Add on that I love the backing vocals too..it just made the song adventurous and airy in a good way.  Love it!

5. Invader Invader

Hopefully the last of the “Nanda Collection” A-sides, we enter Invader Invader and coming after “Ninjari Ban Ban in her discography, I was wondering what she’d be pulling off as the last single before the studio album and she surprised me once again!  I mean it has a lot of odd things going on here (no surprise, it’s Kyary) but there’s some synth 8bit moments and some robotic things on top of some dubstep to surprise fans!  It’s a pretty interesting song to say the least and she suited this kind of track quite nicely.

6. Kanzen Keitai

The other new track, Kanzen Keitai sounds worldly from the intro with synths and smooth sounds.  Though Kyary jumps in and her voice does ind of get covered by the music a little and she hits some REALLY thin notes here.  I do like some of the song, but the forceful punch of the chorus (and Kyary’s vocal blows) do not work well and just comes off as a little mechanical sounding.  I mean we have “Slo-mo” for that kind of track.

7. Tokyo Highway

I was a bit surprised a “Pikapika Fantajin” song was chosen, but here we have Tokyo Highway!  I actually didn’t remember how this one went because a lot of that album flew over my head when I reviewed it.  As I listen to it, I feel similar to how I feel with “Kirakira Killer” with the arrangement and some of the tricks and chords.  Unfortunately, after a while I get bored since the chorus is so one-dimensional and repetitive to me so it honestly goes by my head.

8. Crazy Party Night ~Pumpkin no Gyakushuu~

Ok, so maybe the remainder of the album isn’t as in line as the first disc (or as I said earlier lol).  Moving into a last section of singles that were released for this best album, Crazy Party Night was the 2nd A-side and initially I didn’t give too much care for it.  Luckily, this is bringing me back and I can totally feel the Halloween theme in this song which is all over the verses (not-so-much the chorus, but she does say ~halloween~ during it).  The song does kind of remind me of “Mottai Night Land” in some respects, but this one is cute and the beat is fun to hear.  A lot better than I remembered!

9. No No No

Then we have one of the B-sides from “Crazy Party Night” next and I remember this one because it had a STRONG Perfume sound to it (well, duh it’s Nakata).  Honestly though, the tribal drums and the heavy piano and shuffling electro wasn’t helping the comparisons.  It feels like Kyary was actually trying to sing stronger for this one and I like the classy vibe out of this one.  It does somewhat stick out in this compilation, but I think that’s a good thing.

10. Mondai Girl

Then we have the first single to release before this released and it’s definitely a favorite of mine since “Kirakira Killer” at least!  Actually the song reminds me of some of the spark that happened in the “Nanda Collection” singles and that made me so happy because I love the electronics and flow of the tune!  One of the best songs in recent times for sure!

11. Cosmetic Coaster

Then in our final stretch is our two main songs from her last single!  Actually, it’s funny that the B-side came first this time to be honest.  Cosmetic Coaster definitely has a strong theme park feel, but I feel like I wasn’t sure whether having it appear as a song here makes sense as it’s one of her genki-cute tracks and it’s just a little generic in comparison to most songs on this album.

12. Sai & Kou

We finally get to the album which ends with the last A-side she released prior to this release and I was a little underwhelmed with it on initial release and while it’s been a month since its release, I wasn’t sure if anything would change.  Being the final track, it’s a little strange like “Cosmetic Coaster” in that it just sticks out in a weird way.  It can be catchy at some points, but there’s multitudes of other MORE catchy songs here!

Tracks Recommended

  • Fashion Monster
  • CANDY CANDY
  • PONPONPON
  • Kyary ANAN
  • Furisodation

  • Kirakira Killer
  • Invader Invader
  • Mondai Girl
  • Ninjari Ban Ban
  • No No No

Song of Avoidance

  • Kimi ni 100 Percent
  • Cosmetic Coaster

Wow, it feels like she debuted not that long ago and yet we are here a mini-album and 3 studio albums later, we finally have KPP BEST which chronicles her singles and some oddities there.  While I feel like she initially wanted to go by release it got messy for the ending of Disc 1 and most of Disc 2 and I was wondering if there was a reason to it.  A lot of the songs here are her best so I’m happy to see that, but there were some meh songs and the 2 new tracks (not counting the intro) weren’t up to snuff IMO.  Still, overall it’s nice and there’s even a 3rd disc containing most of the extended mixes she’s released over the years!

 

Leave a Reply

