Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Juice=Juice – Dream Road ~Kokoro ga Odoridashiteru~/KEEP ON Joshou Shikou!!/Ashita Yarou ga Bakayarou October 17, 2016

Filed under: Juice=Juice — solarblade @ 4:06 pm

dreamroad

Track Listing

  1. Dream Road ~Kokoro ga Odoridashiteru~
  2. KEEP ON Joshou Shikou!!
  3. Ashita Yarou ga Bakayarou
  4. Dream Road ~Kokoro ga Odoridashiteru~ (Instrumental)
  5. KEEP ON Joshou Shikou!! (Instrumental)
  6. Ashita Yarou ga Bakayarou (Instrumental)

1. Dream Road ~Kokoro ga Odoridashiteru~

Opening the single, Dream Road brings us back to some EDM sounds that Juice=Juice usually worked well with.  Though the tune is far from being just a straight up dance track as it feels like a ballad when you take out the synths.  Add on the saxophones lines and it sticks out to me quite a bit!  Though the problems are far more noticeable to me from the out of place bridge section and the choice to use a fade-out was just not a good idea.  Beyond those problems, I really enjoyed the song!

2. KEEP ON Joshou Shikou!!

So the 2nd A-side was a nice surprise as they said it was a bit of a nod to Michael Jackson’s music back in the 80s.  It also helped that it was produced by both Hyadain & DANCEMAN!  I really do like the vibe of the track and each of the members sound lively and alive (albeit a little flat in places like Karin and Tomoko).  There’s just a lot of excitement in this song and I have to say I approve of this a lot!

3. Ashita Yarou ga Bakayarou

Looks like ex-ANGERME’s Kanon Fukuda strikes again as the lyricist of J=J’s 3rd A-side on this single and honestly I guess I might’ve been spoiled by the two previous tracks, but I thought this was the weakest of the three.  Unlike the songs before, Ashita Yarou ga Bakayarou is a bit more rockin’ and a little more on the edge (like something Buono! would get).  Still, the song feels lacking and I myself felt like it was just an extra album song that got saved for a single (to me that is).

 

 

As Juice=Juice’s 2nd single of the year, I felt this one trumped over their last one “Next is you!/Karada Dake ga Otona ni Nattan ja nai” by a huge margin (include “Otona no Jijou” as well).  I do think the star of the show is by far KEEP ON Joshou Shikou!! with its disco vibes and overall fun atmosphere.  Dream Road was 2nd due to my love for EDM, though it had some weird things that didn’t make sense to me and Ashita Yarou ga Bakayarou rounds out the back…just something about it doesn’t work with me either.  Overall a decent single and not sure why it took so long between the singles…

 

Leave a Reply

