Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Nana Mizuki – NEOGENE CREATION January 19, 2017

Filed under: Nana Mizuki — solarblade @ 7:03 am

neogenecreation

Track Listing

  1. Meguri Au Subete ni
  2. STAND UP!
  3. Please Download
  4. ALONE ARROWS
  5. TWIST&TIGER
  6. Rock Ride Riot
  7. Hatsukoi
  8. JEWEL
  9. UNLIMITED BEAT
  10. WAKE UP THE SOULS
  11. STARTING NOW!
  12. GLORIA
  13. RODEO COWGIRL
  14. Kimi yo Sakebe
  15. Zettaiteki Kofukuron

1. Meguri Au Subete ni

Opening the album, Nana usually opens with a very powerful song to kick things off and well I’m surprised that Meguri Au Subete ni isn’t the typical fast-paced epic song like “Avalon to Oukan” and “Glorious Break”.  Actually I’m more surprised she kick off NEOGENE CREATION with a ballad.  Well, a mid-tempo rock ballad.  I do like some elements of the track especially with the strings and guitarwork throughout.  Still, this is more of a song I’d expect in the middle of the album or at the end.

2. STAND UP!

I guess this is going to be a weird album because next up is STAND UP! with a celtic introduction which was something I wasn’t expecting.  I love that Nana sounds like she was having more fun with the song overall.  The tune itself feels slightly cluttered due to the smushing of lyrics in the verses, however, the chorus is a lot more straightforward.  I think the reason this song stuck on me is from the Celtic lines (and maybe the guitar solos too).  Interesting 2nd track.

3. Please Download

~Please download my secret message~…is really what kicks off our next track.  I’m already noticing the wild shifts through genres and we’re only on our 3rd track!  I was happy to hear Nana tackling electropop once again.  Despite not being as quick as I would hope it would’ve been, the computerized vocals and feeling of the track is interesting and gives us a small break from Nana’s strong and character-driven voice.  It’s a unique song on the album and as such, memorable to me!

4. ALONE ARROWS

I was expecting something like an anison track to come up soon on the album and ALONE ARROWS fits the bill to a T.  It has the chords of an opening theme on top of the moving strings and pop/rock sensibilities.  While I have to say these kind of songs from Nana are quite common and they all kind of meld together to a similar feel, I hate to say that ALONE ARROWS just didn’t stand out.

5. TWIST&TIGER

Then we hit TWIST&TIGER and I feel like it’s the retro-esque song of the album as it has a slightly jazzy feel due to the horns and funky riffs, but it also carries a lot of Nana’s powerful vocals.  I will say the chorus is a bit crazy and the drumming is a bit much, but the tune sounds familiar to another song of hers.  Interesting song though.

6. Rock Ride Riot

Despite not having more than one single on the album, I was hoping for that one edgy anison song that also has some dance elements somewhere.  Rock Ride Riot manages to fill in that void with having somewhat something that feels close to “Vitalization”.  I really love Nana’s performance in the track and the whole ~I know, I know, I know~ section is just really cool to hear.  My favorite song from the album right here!

7. Hatsukoi

After that piece of excitement, Hatsukoi strongs off quite powerfully with a rockin’ arrangement before slowing down to begin Nana’s run in the verses.  I do like some of the arrangement to be quite honest and it has a little Japanese flavor in it that really pulls me in and the guitar solo is pretty epic too.  However, the remainder of the song just doesn’t really speak to me.  It’s not a bad song though.

8. JEWEL

Our actual first ballad of the album, JEWEL gives us a break from the energetic songs with something a little more natural in arrangement.  While Nana has MANY ballads that topple over this track with ease, I feel like it was to be album fluff to break monotony from happening.  Just wasn’t something I was going to come back to after the review.

9. UNLIMITED BEAT

As one of the earliest album songs shown off, UNLIMITED BEAT seemed like it would’ve just been anison typical, but I feel like THIS was the song that should have opened the album because it’s heavy and really kicks the door down (especially after “JEWEL”).  The song is just so badass and Nana’s soaring vocals just paints the song in amazing colors!  Plus, it’s quite metal-like and I enjoyed the aspect of it.  Great song!

10. WAKE UP THE SOULS

Having our next track follow-up “UNLIMITED BEAT” is quite the task, but unlike the seriousness of that track, WAKE UP THE SOULS loosens up the atmosphere by being more lively and upbeat, but not losing the energy.  Nana once again really shines in the song and I like the control she has overall in the song.  Really a cool, cool track for the album!

11. STARTING NOW!

I find it strange that not only one single represented this album, there’s no B-side chosen to be included (sorry fans of “Antiphona” and “Koisou Hanabi”).  Anyway, STARTING NOW! when I first reviewed was exciting for me because it wasn’t the anison droll that she was putting out throughout some of the “SMASHING ANTHEMS” era.  I like the upbeat pop/rock atmosphere that kind of reminds me of “WAKE UP THE SOULS” which is pretty interesting they’re back to back.  Definitely one of Nana’s better A-sides of recent memory and fits this album nicely.

12. GLORIA

Seems like another anison track is on its way and it’s more synth based than previous tracks.  Despite that it sounds a bit to-the-books when it comes to Nana’s more synth-centric tracks, I do like Nana’s vocals cascading over the arrangement.  Maybe it’s me but it feels like a song that could’ve easily come from “GREAT ACTIVITY” if anything before that!  Sounds nostalgic to me and is a decent track overall!

13. RODEO COWGIRL

Of the titles on the album, RODEO COWGIRL had my brows raised the most.  Sadly, it fits with both “WAKE UP THE SOULS” and “STARTING NOW!” with the upbeat pop/rock arrangement.  I have to say of those 3 though, this is the weakest of them as it just doesn’t feel like it tries to stand out to me.  Does remind me of a couple songs too from “IMPACT EXCITER” but more in a bland way to me…another filler track for me.

14. Kimi yo Sakebe

As the penultimate track of the album, Kimi yo Sakebe would’ve made for another awesome opening to the album especially with an intro like that!  I think Nana and more serious rock tracks seem to finally suit her moreso than before.  I will say the chorus bums me a little bit, but overall the track is good and fills the album nicely.

15. Zettaiteki Kofukuron

Ending the album and also chosen to promote the album, I was surprised Zettaiteki Kofukuron was chosen as it’s a ballad, even moreso than “JEWEL” was.  I do think she could have chosen a better song because while it’s a decent song, I don’t think it was a strong suit to choose a ballad to promote the album IMO.  I love the stringwork and Nana’s low tones are great, but once it turns into a rock ballad, I’m just a little over it.

Track Listing

  • Rock Ride Riot
  • UNLIMITED BEAT
  • WAKE UP THE SOULS
  • STARTING NOW!
  • Please Download

Song of Avoidance

  • JEWEL

I wasn’t expecting Nana to have released a new album shortly after her last one, “SMASHING ANTHEMS” and only after one single.  NEOGENE CREATION (title is awesome BTW) seems like a bit more straightforward and stronger of an album even if there was a bit less promotion going on.  I do think some songs run on the generic side, but on the whole, Nana managed to pull some great songs here.  I wonder what she’ll release next, but I’m excited!

 

Leave a Reply

