Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Hello! Pro Kenshuusei Hokkaido – Real☆Little☆Girl/Kanojo ni Naritai!!! (Hello! Pro Kenshuusei Hokkaido Ver.) May 26, 2017

Filed under: Hello! Pro Kenshuusei — solarblade @ 4:39 am


Track Listing

  1. Real☆Little☆Girl
  2. Kanojo ni Naritai!!! (Hello! Pro Kenshuusei Hokkaido Ver.)
  3. Real☆Little☆Girl (Instrumental)
  4. Kanojo ni Naritai!!! (Hello! Pro Kenshuusei Hokkaido Ver.) (Instrumental)

1. Real☆Little☆Girl

As the Hokkaido’s debut A-side, Real☆Little☆Girl was our actual first taste of the 7 members that make up the branch and its no surprise that they would get a very cutesy song as their first.  When I actually first heard it, I felt like this was an unused Country Girls song because it’s just got that feel from the intro sounding a smidge like “Dou Datte Ii no’s” intro to the rest feeling like “Koi Dorobo” & “Wakatte Iru no ni Gomen ne”.  Though it’s a catchy song to listen to and solos from all 7 members is pretty impressive too!  It’s got a lot of potential for these girls and they don’t sound bad really.

2. Kanojo ni Naritai!!! (Hello! Pro Kenshuusei Hokkaido Ver.)

The other A-side is of course known as the debut A-side for the actual Kenshuusei.  Well, originally it was 5 of the Kenshuusei back then in 2012.  Anyways, the Hokkaido version isn’t too different opting to keep the original’s arrangement but replacing vocals.  Considering the original barely had solos (3 lines), this cut actually has no solo lines so it’s just there to listen and not really focus on the members individually.

I wasn’t expecting the Hokkaido branch to actually receive its own single, but here we are with their first apparently.  I will actually say that Real☆Little☆Girl is a nice bout of fresh air to get away from the EDM-ness of H!P in recent times (granted other groups are starting to sway away as well).  It’s just a simple, cute and bright song to really showcase these newer girls.  Though I’m curious to why Kanojo ni Naritai!!! was chosen to be covered…I guess it makes sense that it was a first single for the main branch so it’s more like a signature song for the trainees.  Overall, it’s OK, but I wonder if we’ll get more.


U-KISS – PaNiC! May 2, 2017

Filed under: U-KISS — solarblade @ 5:00 am


Track Listing

  1. PaNiC!
  2. Flying Around The World
  3. U-KISS 2016 One More Shot Mix (Physical only)
  4. PaNiC! (Instrumental)
  5. Flying Around The World (Instrumental)

1. PaNiC!

As the leading track, PaNiC! is quite a track that I was hoping to see more from and they delivered!  The track itself goes back to the group’s earlier efforts with its heavier dance style like in “Bingeul Bingeul” & “Tick Tack”.  The beat is just heavy and in your face and the group while focused on Kevin, Soohyun, and Hoon, the rest of the group manage to pop out left and right to gave a cool performance.  Pretty awesome A-side!

2. Flying Around The World

Though I wasn’t expecting the B-side to be more EDM in its arrangement, but the song itself is a lot more brighter and poppy in comparison.  While it does feel a smidge cheesy and much, the track is catchy too and hearing Kevin & Soohyun is quite nice even if this is repetitive like mad.  Interesting B-side, kind of surprised it won’t make an album…

3. U-KISS 2016 One More Shot Mix

Found only on physical editions of the single, this Mix is actually more like an album digest of “One Shot One Kill”…a 10-minute digest at that.  Though at the same time, none of the tracks sound like their actual album counterparts so there’s that.  It’s just there for some reason and not sure why since the actual album was before this single soooo…why???



Ending their 2016 and releasing a single before their best-of drops, we have PaNiC! and it’s probably their best single since at least their 2nd Japanese album.  I felt like PaNiC! brought back much needed excitement for the group and Flying Around The World while a bit hammy at times is a nice opposite to the A-side.  Granted, as this single is a promotional single for the best album, it’s curious to see what happens…

Although, figures that in 2017, we get news that Kevin has left the group, so this is his last single with the group…makes me wonder how the group dynamic will shift (maybe Keseop will get some time FINALLY).