Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kobushi Factory – Shalala! Yareru Hazu sa/Eejanaika Ninjanaika June 14, 2017

Filed under: Kobushi Factory — solarblade @ 3:59 pm

shalala

Track Listing

  1. Shalala! Yareru Hazu sa
  2. Eejanaika Ninjanaika
  3. Yami ni Nukegake (SP Edition only)
  4. Picchi Pichi Tomodacchi (SP Edition only)
  5. Shalala! Yareru Hazu sa (Instrumental)
  6. Eejanaika Ninjanaika (Instrumental)
  7. Yami ni Nukegake (Instrumental)
  8. Picchi Pichi Tomodacchi (Instrumental)

1. Shalala! Yareru Hazu sa

Kicking the single off, I was happy to hear that Shalala! gives me a mix of pop/punk with a little bit of ska in the tune.  Considering that it fits with Kobushi’s overall style, it was pretty decent and has a nice positive sound to it all.  I have to say though that I love the chorus and the energy the girls put in.  Surprising though that it’s the only song on the single not tied to something!

2. Eejanaika Ninjanaika

That said the rest of the single is tied to the JK Ninja Girls staeplay & movie.  Though I was wondering why they made the other A-side sound like a showgirls-like track mix with some light ondo.   It’s cute as things go but like with “Samba! Kobushi Janeiro” it’s one of the oddball A-sides they’ve had.  I will say that it’s catchy as hell though and everyone gets a solo line which is always decent to hear too!

3. Yami ni Nukegake

The last two tracks were insert songs for the stageplay (“Eejanaika Ninjanaika” was the theme for the movie).  Starting with Yami ni Nukegake, a song that outside of the play, Kobushi has been performing a lot of, it’s a pretty interesting song.  You can hear the ninja-esque elements, but it does stem closer to Kobushi’s style but has a lot of funky bass lines and horn lines.  Strange as it seems, it works a lot better than “Eejanaika Ninjanaika” as it’s a bit more edgy and the girls have a lot more solos to handle, but came out sounding amazing here!  Curious to why this wasn’t an A-side because it sounds awesome!

4. Picchi Pichi Tomodacchi

The same can’t be said for the last track though.  I instantly felt the stageplay feel immediately from the arrangement and the weird instrumentation.  On top of the male quips that were thrown in.  A lot of the girls sound higher than I thought and that in itself was odd.  Though it’s not as strange as the interlude of the guys singing against this EDM-ish cutesy arrangement for a little while.  What a strange choice to put on the single, couldn’t this have been on the “JK Ninja Girls” OST?

 

 

As the group’s first single after their first album, “Kobushi Sono Ichi”, I feel like they hit a weird point with this one.  I think Shalala! Yareru Hazu sa was appropriate enough to be the leading track because it sounds like a lot of their stuff prior.  Though having the other 75% being tied to their JK Ninja Girls stuff might have led them astray since none of the songs really fit Kobushi’s style.  That said though, I did really love Yami ni Nukegake and in some parts Eejanaika Ninjanaika as there’s some experimentation that works for them moreso than “Samba! Kobushi Janeiro” did.  Picchi Pichi Tomodacchi is just an odd song for them and to throw random male parts in didn’t help much in the end.

I guess it should be mentioned that this is also Rio Fujii’s final single with the group as she’s graduating and I don’t think she was well-represented here as a send-off single.  Shalala!’s PV helped, but Rio chose to announce this a bit after the single’s announcement sadly.  Still, I’ll miss her energy and quirkiness…hopefully she won’t leave too much of a hole behind.

 

Kaya – Yumeji

Filed under: Kaya — solarblade @ 6:52 am

yumeji

Track Listing

  1. Yumeji
  2. Frosty Rain
  3. Yumeji -Trance Remix-

1. Yumeji

Oh wow, is this tribal drums and percussion I hear that opens up Yumeji?  Wow, I’m actually impressed by it even after piano & strings are added to the mix.  I feel like it does sound a bit jazzy when Kaya starts to sing and I quite enjoy the soft atmosphere that he’s not really totally known for.  I will say I’m surprised too by the abundance of reverb here giving Kaya an echo-y sound to add to the whispyness of the track overall.  Decent song here and was not expecting a track like this.

2. Frosty Rain

Are we really seeing this song again?  Yup, not even one single after (it was a B-side from “Perfana”), we have a new version of Frosty Rain that makes the ballad even MORE ballad-like with a softer performance from Kaya.  Actually there’s another voice in the song singing lines too, Yume Suzuki (who I never heard of) and they both did a pretty good job.  Strange, but I think I prefer this cut over the original take.

3. Yumeji -Trance Remix-

Since the single so far has been a quiet ride, knowing that we’d get to a trance remix of the leading song perked my interest especially the genre shift from jazz to trance is quite the stretch.  Honestly though, the arrangement with blazing synths and cool melodies are neat to listen to, but I was expecting the song to just fizzle out and quiet down for Kaya.  Though once the chorus kicks in, everything feels right in the world and it just works SO well together. I have to say for just a remix, this was pretty damn good!

 

 

Kaya’s 2nd single for the era is quite a nice single from him I’d say!  Yumeji was a nice change of pace for an A-side being quiet and jazzy and somewhat cool for him to tackle and it even makes a better trance track on top of that!  I am curious to why Frosty Rain was chosen to be redone, but it definitely made the track more memorable than before!  Awesome single!

 

You Kikkawa – Sayonara, Standard

Filed under: You Kikkawa — solarblade @ 6:34 am

sayonarastand

Track Listing

  1. Sayonara, Standard
  2. Unbalance Unbalance
  3. Sayonara, Standard (Instrumental)
  4. Unbalance Unbalance (Instrumental)

1. Sayonara, Standard

I was wondering what Yuu would bring us for her next A-side after the odd “Ha wo Kuishibare!” and considering the same person wrote her next A-side, I was expecting the tune to be more strange, but Sayonara, Standard is a bit more normal, but I wasn’t expecting Yuu to sound so different than she has before.  Almost squeakier and nasally than before which is unusual.  Plus the arrangement is a bit kooky and cutesy too.  It’s definitely a Seiko Oomori song and it’s different enough to stick out, but I’m not quite sure if it reaches levels of Kikka’s older works.

2. Unbalance Unbalance

As the lone B-side, Unbalance Unbalance follows behind “Charming Shoubu Sedai” by having more of a pop/rock vibe, but like “Sayonara, Standard”, it comes off a bit cuter due to Kikka’s cutesy vocals and some of the arrangement choices made here.  It’s pretty simple and it works as a B-side I feel like.

 

 

Not sure why Kikka keeps moving away from her EDM works because I keep thinking that’s her bread and butter so once again I feel a bit bummed from this single.  Sayonara, Standard is strange, not as much as the previous Oomori produced song, but absurd from making Kikka not sound like herself.  Unbalance Unbalance is OK, nothing special…I feel this single could’ve used another B-side, but this single is just kind of meh for me.