Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Aira Mitsuki – Pyramidal October 17, 2017

Filed under: Aira Mitsuki — solarblade @ 7:14 am

pyrimidal

Track Listing

  1. Future in Loop
  2. Pyramidal
  3. Chewing on Love
  4. LIGHTSAVER
  5. DIS&CO
  6. Detective A
  7. Recommunication
  8. Nabwa
  9. Days
  10. I’LL AGAIN..

1. Future in Loop

Kicking the album off is the lead-in track, Future in Loop and hearing Aira jumping back into some more club-like sounds for her album is definitely a new change of pace for her and I kind of dug it!  It’s definitely a song that while doesn’t have a lot of drops, has a cool vibe and such.  I think it sets the album up nicely and makes me excited to hear what else there is to hear!

2. Pyramidal

Moving onto the title track, Pyramidal caught my attention with the harder beats and more experimental sound in comparison to “Future in Loop”.  It sounds a bit destructive, yet composed with Aira’s lispy vocals to give some poppy feels.  There’s just something so lowkey yet gritty about it all.  What an interesting track, this is!  I’m quite enjoying this more than I should~

3. Chewing on Love

After that, I wasn’t expecting the jump back to something a bit more familiar to fans of her D-TOPIA works.  Chewing on Love is so far the poppiest track I’ve come across the album, but it’s nice as I hear some acoustic guitar mixing it up with the low bass hits and then adding this light tropical house sound, giving this electric 80s sound which is great to hear!  Another strong song for the album here!

4. LIGHTSAVER

So we finally get to our first old track and it’s Aira’s first song when she came back from her hiatus (and leaving of D-TOPIA).  As this was a song that was released back in 2015, it was going to be interesting to come back to this.  I do like how it was like a throwback to Aira’s stuff circa “C.O.P.Y” with the grittier synths and Aira’s filtered vocals just feels right!  Though, it’s odd that I think that it does sound safe in comparison to the previous three tracks, but IzeMac had to start somewhere!

5. DIS&CO

I was hoping the next one would be a literal disco track, but DIS&CO is hitting hard.  I really like the edgy arrangement that kind of has the same kick and fire that “Pyramidal” had, but after the intro, it starts going into a club beat and flow and it really makes you wanna lose yourself on the dancefloor.  Simple, but effective track!

6. Detective A

Despite the fact I didn’t review two of the digital A-sides Aira released back in 2016, I’m kind of happy to see both make the cut!  Detective A was the more interesting of the two because unlike most of the tracks, this one felt very anthemic and unique amongst the other EDM tracks we’re offered here.  The introduction is a bit slow, but it grows into an 80s-inspired club bopper!  Pretty strong then and pretty strong now~

7. Recommunication

Back to new tracks, Recommunication continues to bring more experimentation to the table and I’m just impressed by the new clicks, bells, and whistles that it brought along with this dubsteppy kind of riff.  Gone are the more grittier synths for something a little more poppy and glossy and Aira seems to be taking the reins vocally here which is awesome because it feels like I’ve been more into the music than her.  That said, the pre-chorus is amazing and the chorus (while busy) is pretty damn cool!  Definitely my favorite off the album!

8. Nabwa

As the last of the new tracks, Nabwa (odd title aside) is something I wasn’t expecting.  Like “Pyramidal” and “DIS&CO”, Nabwa has more of a darker vibe to it and has a bit more of a grungier kind of club sound that pushes it along.  Aira does seem to sit back a little bit as her contribution is more or less the same throughout (not very much).  It’s OK, but of the previous tracks mentioned, it’s a bit weak.

9. Days

The other digital single released, Days definitely tries to really pop out from the album, but it features a lot of the same sounds that I came across in other songs from this album and while it did come before most songs here, I can’t help but think it has a little too much of the gritty bass synths that are all over “LIGHTSAVER” & “I’LL AGAIN..”.  The quieter parts are nice, but the rest is kind of forgetful.

10. I’LL AGAIN..

The album ends with arguably the first song she actually came back with and like with what I said in “Days” the gritty synths are present, but I’m not quite as harsh as it was her first song back in the limelight.  I also feel like this could’ve made a better opening to the album than “Future in Loop”, but that’s just me.  Still it’s a decent song overall.

Tracks Recommended

  • Recommunication
  • Pyramidal
  • Detective A
  • Chewing on Love
  • LIGHTSAVER

Song of Avoidance

Nabwa

Wow it’s been quite a while since “I’LL BE BACK” (released back in 2013) hasn’t it?  Yeah, a bit bummed that she isn’t working with Terukado anymore, but it means she gets to stretch her works to other people.  Pyramidal is actually surprisingly good and a good step up over both her last album and her previous “???” album as well.  I do think while this is a good album, maybe more producers could help out while I liked IzeMac here, it did feel samey and a bit messy through some songs.  Also, while I’m not surprised that “Animo!” isn’t here (was produced by others), I’m a little surprised that “F.F.C.” didn’t make the cut.  Still, an overall good album and hopefully Aira can release more regularly again.

 

Leave a Reply

