Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Perfume – Mugen Mirai March 20, 2018

Filed under: Perfume — solarblade @ 6:20 pm


Track Listing

  1. Mugen Mirai
  2. FUSION (Limited/Regular only)
  3. FLASH (Chihayafuru Edition only)
  4. Mugen Mirai -Original Instrumental-

1. Mugen Mirai

As the leading track, Mugen Mirai has an interesting twist to their sound that the trio (and Nakata) hasn’t really explored much.  I really do love the mix of their electropop style with some strings.  Though the chorus kind of brings this cool mix of some future bass to kind of make the chorus have punch.  It’s really unique for the trio and it’s definitely ranking up there as my favorite of the A-sides they’ve released since “COSMIC EXPLORER”.


As the main B-side for the single, hearing this originally via its CM tie-in, I figured it was going to be a harder song, but I was definitely curious to see the idea expanded and here it is on the single.  Even if the song falls in line with stuff like “STORY” and “Party Maker” in which the trio is less involved and feels more like a Nakata track.  That said, it’s also got a cool futuristic beat to it and fits to Perfume, but I think I would’ve enjoyed more presence from them besides their whispery parts towards the end.


Here we are again reviewing FLASH it seems (it’s here due to the tie-in to the previous movie in which “Mugen Mirai” is the theme to the sequel).  I still love it a lot even if it’s been out for quite a while.  At least of the “COSMIC EXPLORER” songs, this one feels like one that kind of represented the album at its best.  It’s a pretty cool song and it has that cool Perfume feel that I feel like this era of singles has been missing.



As the 3rd single for the era, Mugen Mirai is probably the best they’ve done since “TOKYO GIRL” and “If you wanna” were kind of meh to me.  Mugen Mirai is a breath of fresh air though and really brings some new substance to Perfume’s music that I appreciate.  Though I will say FUSION would’ve been better off as an album track because it feels more like a Nakata-centric piece with little blotches of Perfume and FLASH is decent enough incentive despite being on one edition of the single (and it replaces FUSION as the B-side).  Kind of wanting an album soon.


Kobushi Factory – Kore Kara da!/Ashita Tenki ni Naare

Filed under: Kobushi Factory — solarblade @ 5:43 pm


Track Listing

  1. Kore Kara da!
  2. Ashita Tenki ni Naare
  3. Kore Kara da! (Instrumental)
  4. Ashita Tenki ni Naare (Instrumental)

1. Kore Kara da!

As the leading A-side, Kore Kara da! was actually somewhat surprising at the arrangement and sound of the song gave me some previous feelings to older songs like something from 4-nin S/mileage with the guitarwork and synths flowing around.  Though it does also somewhat remind me of “Tabidachi no Haru ga Kita”.  I kind of like hearin the members give a somewhat stronger performance considering all 5 members can sing in the lower register.  I wasn’t expecting Reirei to have a beatboxing section or Sakurako to have a lot of lines, but it’s such an interesting song and while it might not be their strongest song, it’s decent enough for Kobushi!

2. Ashita Tenki ni Naare

The other A-side, Ashita Tenki ni Naare feels a bit more like something Buono! would have released due to the style of the guitars and synths.  I do like the drive within the quintet and each girl feels like they stick out a LOT here and the tune kind of gives me sort of similar vibes to like “Shalala! Yareru Hazu sa” but also something like “TEKI”.  What threw me off is the bridge with the English from a dude…way too cheesy.



Doesn’t it feel like it’s been a while since we’ve seen Kobushi Factory last?  A lot has happened since then, mostly due to the group losing 3 of their members (luckily not their vocal side) and had left us with the 5 here.  I feel like the single is kind of decent, but also somewhat middle of the road since neither song brought the excitement I was hoping for after their previous single.  Though it is nice Wadasaku is getting a bigger push to be on equal terms with the rest of the group now.  Curious to see what’s next for them.