Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

misono – Sei -say- July 15, 2008

Filed under: misono — solarblade @ 10:51 pm
Tags: ,

seisay

Track Listing

  1. misono Aji
  2. Zasetsu Chiten
  3. Ninin Sankyaku
  4. Gizagiza LIFE
  5. black & white ~Kuroi Sunglasses Kaketa Hi Kara~
  6. Triangle
  7. Hot Time
  8. Mugen Kigen
  9. Ojii-chankko Obaa-chankko Hinatabokko
  10. Pochi
  11. Hankouki
  12. Juunin Toiro
  13. Tamago
  14. Last Song -say Ver.-
  15. “Kimi to Watashi no Uta”

1. misono Aji

A pretty cool guitar riff starts the album off.  misono’s vocals are filtered and echoed a bit too which is not the usual fare with her.  It’s definitly sounds like an Ai Otsuka song too which is so strange.  Though it’s a short track, it definitly pretty much preludes to what’s coming.

2. Zasetsu Chiten

After the pretty cool opening we get a slew of singles/b-sides.  Zasetsu Chiten is the 1st and I still love it as much as I did when I picked up the single.  A great comeback into the rock world, with pounding guitars and strongs vocals no wonder everyone thought this was her strongest single until…

3. Ninin Sankyaku

Yes, this track was a great finisher to the Rock Project Medley.  Just as catchy and with furious power, Ninin Sankyaku has to be my favorite single!  I still enjoy the layout of the track especially the after-chorus, that was pretty sweet of her.  The placement on this album couldnt have been more better either.

4. Gizagiza LIFE

I always thought that this song was unusual with it’s 50’s beach sound to it.  misono uses a lower tone for the verses and she sounds a bit flat sometimes but when she gets more energetic, its so much better.  The chorus is a tad messy but it wasn’t as bad as “Juunin Toiro”.

5. black & white ~Kuroi Sunglasses Kaketa Hi Kara~

Zasetsu Chiten’s B-side showed a real dark side to the single.  It still does carry the dark tone of the album.  It’s a bit new to misono’s style and I think she did it quite well.  Though her vocals can be annoying at times, mostly found in the chorus.  It’s still an OK track, not her best.

6. Triangle

Sweeeet, our first new full track!  It starts with a guitar beat.  It’s like a marching beat but not with the drums.  I thought the chorus was somewhat sloppy until they hit the 2nd part of the chorus which made so much more sense.  The 2nd verse has some pretty cool stuff going on!  Definitly a good, new track.

7. Hot Time

I was sooo elated to see this on the tracklisting!  She needed a ballad for sure.  To take the best ballad in the “Never+Land” era was such an awesome idea.  Her vocals are real great in the song, and fully shows her emotions.  I think this is the best track on here, no doubt!

8. Mugen Kigen

The 5th single track, Mugen Kigen did make things a bit softer on the rock, I didn’t find it too memorable unlike the other 3 in the Rock Project Medley.  I still can’t find its charm on the album either.  If its status on the album wasn’t a single, I’d immediatly think “filler”!

9. Ojii-chankko Obaa-chankko Hinatabokko

Noting the title is a bit disturbing, it’s actually quite a nice track she’s got here.  How the piano is being played and how the bass is so noticeable and catchy.  I’d say this would be the fun track of the album.  When I heard the preview for this, I thought this would have been the worst song, but my thoughts are changed so quickly.  The song is just great to listen too!

10. Pochi

Continuing this pop/rock sound is my puppy song, Pochi.  Now I said in my review that I haven’t heard of an uber cute song from her, but this takes that cake and runs with it.  The riff from the guitar is rad, and misono sounds quite good.  The silly piano in the chorus was just so random but hilarious.  Great single too.

11. Hankouki

This song when it began reminded me of “Ari to Kirigirisu” almost immediatly when it misono started singing.  I kinda like how this song is arranged to, it’s got a cool beat and misono sounds enthusiastic, such a good feeling song.

12. Juunin Toiro

If there was one song she could have left out, it would have been this song.  The vocals are just weird, and outta place.  It might be better listening to it, while drunk.  misono is so messy all over the song, but the music is actually pretty good nonetheless.  The worst track off the album, right here.

13. Tamago

This song sounds like it was performed in a bar or something, it just has that sounds like it was a live performance.  The drums are like wow, in the song too.  It’s got a more dark sound too it, which I didn’t expect from a title that meant “Egg”.  misono is kinda quiet until the chorus, where she sounds pretty good.  Oddest song on the album however.

14. Last Song -say Ver.-

The first of two acoustic songs from misono, Last Song originally on the “Mugen Kigen” single, stood out for me because of how she’s never done an acoustic ballad.  I think she’s better off doing more songs like this as she sounds right at home doing this.  Now this is the -say Ver.- the difference between here and the single is that there is a prolonged ending.  What I mean is that the song ends at the same time as the single version but then there’s misono speaking at the end and some random playing, where it leads to our final track.

15. “Kimi to Watashi no Uta”

Our final track, is more or less like “Last Song” but this time misono sounds so much stronger.  Also being an acoustic track, I’m surprised she sounds so good here.  I just love at the end where she’s left with just her voice and she sounds so good.  The title kinda also made me think it was an imcomplete track which adds to coolness for sure.  Beautiful Track.

Tracks Recommended

  • Ninin Sankyaku
  • Hot Time
  • Ojii-chankko Obaa-chankko Hinatabokko
  • Zasetsu Chiten
  • “Kimi to Watashi no Uta”

Song of Avoidance

  • Juunin Toiro

misono’s sophomore album totally beats out her debut by a longshot.  All of the songs brought something new to the table especially the two acoustics at the end, it was awesome.  There was one downside and it was Juunin Toiro, other than that this is a perfect example of a female rock album.  I love it!

 

One Response to “misono – Sei -say-”

  1. Selryam Says:

    Okay, wow, this album is awesome. Much better than her debut, I agree with that point.

    And disturbing titles aside, Ojii-chanko Obaa-chanko Hinatabokko is actually my favorite. >>


Leave a comment