Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

°C-ute – ⑧ Queen of J-POP September 3, 2013

Filed under: C-ute — solarblade @ 11:15 pm

8queenofjpop

Track Listing

  1. Bagel ni Ham & Cheese
  2. Namida mo Denai Kanashiku mo Nai Nanni mo Shitakunai
  3. Kanashiki Amefuri
  4. Tadoritsuita Onna Senshi
  5. Crazy Kanzen na Otona
  6. Nichiyoubi wa Daisuki yo
  7. Abiru Hodo Ai wo Kudasai
  8. Aitai Aitai Aitai na
  9. Adam to Eve no Dilemma
  10. Watashi ga Honki wo Dasu Yoru
  11. Kono Machi

1. Bagel ni Ham & Cheese

Beginning the album, is the strangely titled and promotional track, Bagel ni Ham & Cheese.  After the singles we’ve got, coming into this track for the album was a bit odd simply because it is one of the more cuter (no pun intended) songs they’ve done in the era.  What I liked about it was that it wasn’t overly done (like “Momoiro Sparklng”) since it does have cute lyrics about love and food.  The arrangement might be a little over done, but it’s not the worst they’ve done lol.  Weird way to begin the album but good nonetheless.  Though it’s strange that the new songs are mostly focused on members…though since Tsunku said this was mostly Airi…it comes off that she does get more lines than the other ladies but aren’t forgotten.

2. Namida mo Denai Kanashiku mo Nai Nanni mo Shitakunai

The next new track seems to be revolved around Maimai!  This crazy long titled song, has a bit more of the current H!P electro sound going for it and I was quite happy to hear this kind of track.  I was surprised with all the tricks Tsunku threw in the song like auto-tune and dubstep, but this song has a lot of oomph to it so it seems to really work.  I also heard a lot of Mai in the song which is OK (since I’m still not too fond of her voice, but it worked here being all computerized and all that).  Not a bad song actually!

3. Kanashiki Amefuri

Moving to their last single released prior to the album, Kanashiki Amefuri has actually risen in my mind because it’s just so fashionable of song (like it sounds very clean and classy).  I mean the song still does sound a bit much in the musical interludes but this song is very cool and I loved hearing Chisato so much in this song.  Definitely an impressive track from them!

4. Tadoritsuita Onna Senshi

There was actually no set member that was placed in front for our next song and is the only new ballad on the album.  For such a title, I was expecting a heavier dance track but that’s not the case here.  It also sounds like the song is sung entirely in unison so there’s no case of who’s promoted more here.  Then the 2nd verses happen and all of a sudden I hear all 5 ladies get a solo line before moving back to unison land.  Strange.  As much of a nice song it is (and it is better than “Kono Machi”), this song is still quite boring…and °C-ute doesn’t have the best track record when it comes to ballads…so it wasn’t surprising that I didn’t like it.

5. Crazy Kanzen na Otona

As the 3rd single released for the album, Crazy Kanzen na Otona REALLY woke my ass up from the previous track!  I LOVE this song tons because it’s mature, electro, and just has some epic lines from the ladies found within the track.  I just love the synth chords in this song the most, but then hearing the ladies work with it, just felt so perfect.  I mean it’s no surprise it’s my favorite song on the album hands down!

6. Nichiyoubi wa Daisuki yo

Our next track focuses on Maimi and strangely this song goes back to more of the cuter side of the group which isn’t a total surprise (and strangely enough does remind me of “Momoiro Sparkling”.  I do like the quick-paced feel of the verses, but the choruses seems a bit too generic for me.  Plus the higher tone of the ladies don’t seem to gel as much as they did back in their early days (but that’s obvious).  I think it’s ok, but it’s not that great.

7. Abiru Hodo Ai wo Kudasai

Chisato’s song comes next and good lord I love the intro with the guitar riffs!  Now this song definitely sounds like one that would be a quick favorite amongst the live performances.  The next thing I notice is Chisato’s deep voice…OMG it sounds quite sexy to listen too because it’s tough and scratchy and I LOVE IT!  As the album’s lone rock song, I feel it did great!

8. Aitai Aitai Aitai na

Moving on, we move to the first single released for the era (technically 2nd but “Kimi wa Jitensha Watashi wa Densha de Kitaku” was oddly cut fro the album because it was on their best album).  While it does stand as the album’s fastest track, it’s also one of the messiest, arrangement-wise even if it is pretty good for what it is.  The whole hyper aspect of the song is great, but I think Tsunku just put too much in the track for me, it’s just a wall of sound overall.  It’s not bad, but I think there should’ve been a little more control on the song.

9. Adam to Eve no Dilemma

If “Crazy Kanzen na Otona” wasn’t on the album, I think Adam to Eve no Dilemma would’ve been my favorite song of the era.  I have to say that this song is so mysterious and vocally superb!  I mean both songs are electropop tracks which is my Achilles’ heel of love and both have such strong vocals from all the members.  I was actually surprised to hear so much Maimai over Maimi…it was almost bizarre (like “Bye Bye Bye!”).  Yeah, this song was just great and was a great follow-up to their previous single.

10. Watashi ga Honki wo Dasu Yoru

The final new track on the album is of course saved for Nakky in front.  I wasn’t surprised that she gets a cute song either (honestly, isn’t it time to give Nakky a song that isn’t sugary cute?).  I would say the mix of the 8-bit techno bits and banjo are a TERRIBLE idea.  I will say that the fact that it feels a bit more like a dance track is nice, but this song has a terrible mix of instrumentation.  It’s also quite weird because the next song…

11. Kono Machi

As the 2nd single released for the era (and a Chisato Moritaka cover) I wasn’t surprised it was chosen as the final track (though let’s be honest, “Kimi wa Jitensha…” would’ve been a BETTER choice).  I really didn’t like °C-ute’s cover because it just felt dead to listen to.  The preferred version is the Dance Groove ver. from this single because at least that was more powerful to me than this bare-boned piano/string/guitar slow ass version we got.  I just couldn’t get into the group’s take….X.X

Tracks Recommended

  • Crazy Kanzen na Otona
  • Adam to Eve no Dilemma
  • Namida mo Denai Kanashiku mo Nai Nanni mo Shitakunai
  • Kanashiki Amefuri
  • Abiru Hodo Ai wo Kudasai

Song of Avoidance

  • Kono Machi

After having a surprisingly long era, °C-ute finally released their 8th album and to be honest, I was let down.  Not as much as their 7th album (or “Shin Seinaru”) but I was kind of expecting °C-ute to be more for their dance tracks since they’ve gotten so popular between their last one and this one.  I did like the idea of leads (and not shuffled pairs) but only 2/5 really were passable and the only new group song was a snoozefest.  H!P really needs to work on their album songs now (but let’s be honest that’s a constant problem for H!P).  Right now, this is better than “Dainana Shou “Utsukushikutte Gomen ne” but not by a high margin.