Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

GENERATION 5: 052-075 No Parallels!…I think? February 22, 2011

Filed under: ~Teh Pokemon: 5th Gen~ — solarblade @ 10:54 am

I told you it wasn’t going to be long before another bout of PKMN awesomeness right? So let’s just get down to it

052: Cottonee, 053: Whimsicott

So we get Cottonee and Whimsicott who are both Grass types and luckily doesn’t exactly parallel any Pokemon that I know of (maybe Cottonee has a similar look to a cotton-like Hoppip).  I do really think Whimsicott is adorably cute like hell and I wonder what they’ll be like in the overall metagame, but right now they’re good.  Sadly for me, they are the first version exclusives only appearing in Pokemon Black.

In Generation 6, it’s the ONLY Unova Pokemon to gain the Fairy type alongside its original Grass type which is pretty cool and probably helps it out in the metagame (though funny that Whimsicott’s line is Grass/Fairy, but the Florges line isn’t…)

054: Petilil, 055: Lilligant

So if there’s Black Grass exclusives, that would also mean White has Grass exclusives and that’s where Petilil and Lilligant come in.  However, these two oddly remind me of Oddish and Bellossom respectively.  I found it very cool that it’s a PKMN that needs a Sun Stone to evolve…(seriously when’s the last time we needed one of those?).  Also Cottonee needs a Sun Stone as well to evolve.  I’m actually content with getting a Lilligant since it’s pretty cute ONCE AGAIN hahaha.  Also interesting to note that Lilligant’s are always female HMMMMM…

In Pokemon Legends: Arceus, Lilligant actually get a new Hisuian form, taking on more of a Grass/Fighting typing in hand and looks more like a ballet dancer than it’s Unovian form.  The design looks a bit too simplified, but there’s more to talk about in that post!

056: Basculin

Basculin | Pokédex

Doesn’t this fish look so intimidating?  It makes Carvanha look a bit more tame than this angry fish.  As it is a pure Water type, it stands out quite a bit.  So I’ve heard, that this PKMN has 4 different ability choices which is great for some people that like tricks and upgrading attacks and such…it also comes in two different forms…One’s the Red-striped version and the other one is a Blue-striped version…(it’s really only aesthetic changes like Shellos and the aforementioned different abilities).  I don’t think it’s gonna be huge, but it’s got attire and I like that and it replaces Magikarp (breath of fresh air for some and for others it’s a downfall since Basculin lacks an evolution).

That said, in Gen 8 for the Pokemon Legends game, Basculin does evolve into the new Basculegion which is pretty cool, not sure what’s changed or how it evolves considering there’s two variants of Basculin here.  Very interested to see what the new evolution is capable of, though I will say its new Water/Ghost typing is great (shares with Jellicent and Wash Rotom).  I’ll definitely hope it’s a strong one!  Though with the full game out it seems Basculin had a 3rd variant (but not considered Hisuian) and depending on the gender is what nets you a the dark colored or light colored variant of Basculegion.  Even better in Gen 9, all 3 variants can be found in the wild (if you include the Teal Mask DLC).

057: Sandile, 058: Krokorok, 059: Krookodile

Sweet!!!  We get a PKMN who has a type that is to it’s own kind.  The Sandile line is Ground/Dark and it’s a good looking line that’s based off of crocs!  I have to say that I love the look for Krokorok since it’s giving off such a snide look to it (similar to the Snivy line).  The thing that gets me the most about this line is how random Krookodile looks against it’s pre-evolutions.  I mean Sandile and Krokorok sport brown scales and somehow we’re supposed to believe it just simply turns red?!?  I’m not sure why but whatever it’s a pretty cool looking line though.

060: Darumaka, 061: Darmanitan

I’m pretty happy that there’s even more Fire types in the game but Darumaka and Darmanitan are quite not your usual ones at least Darmanitan.  I still think Darumaka comes off as a happy tomato, but this time there’s arms and legs!!!  LOL, I gotta say I like it.  However, when we learned of Darmanitan (one of the first ones that weren’t event PKMN, mind you) we didn’t know why we got it so early, but it actually has a secret.

Darmanitan’s Dream World (or hidden ability in later gens) ability, Zen Mode is it’s own ability and only to Darmanitans.  What it does is that once Darmanitan’s HP reaches under half, it transforms into its Zen Mode and things change dramatically.  First off, Darmanitan changes from a heated red wild PKMN to a blue reserved with no pupils kind of PKMN.  Next thing is its type changes from Fire to Fire/Psychic (which is the only other PKMN besides Victini to have it).  Also Special Attack gets majorly boosted and so does Defense/Special Defense…however Speed and Attack drop.  Very cool ability and I wonder how that’ll work in tournaments and the overall metagame.

Though curiously in Gen 8, we are introduced to the Galarian version of the line and instead of being Fire, they’re pure Ice types.  If you were curious though, it does still have Zen Mode as an ability, but it’s Zen Mode half is actually Ice/Fire which is really awesome to see!

062: Maractus

Because Cacnea and Cacturne weren’t enough as Cactus PKMN, we get another through Maractus which to me seems like a joke that mixed between the creators when they thought of Cacturne and Ludicolo.  There’s not much that really stands out for me with this little guy, but I’ll prolly end up catching this Grass type.

063: Dwebble, 064: Crustle

Seemingly looks like a mix of ideas from Paras/Parasect, Shuckle, and Krabby/Kingler….Dwebble and Crustle are a bit odd since they’re typed as Bug/Rock.  Since it is the first PKMN we see Cilan capture, Dwebble kind of stands out for me and it’s cute, even without its shell!  Crustle though would’ve looked a whole lot better without that slab of stone slammed on its back right?  It looks so weird that it HAS TO BE CUBIC…so strange…

065: Scraggy, 066: Scrafty

Another group of PKMN that has a typing to only itself: Dark/Fighting, Scraggy and Scrafty are quite something and could pack a punch to the metagame if treated right eh?  I think the names are a little strange for me, but it’ll grow on me I hope.  Though I can’t imagine Ash really saying either (he owns Scraggy BTW).  You should see the the in-game sprite, Scraggy’s is so funny…Also…half chicken/half lizard? EHHH?

067: Sigilyph

When I first saw Sigilyph being leaked, I had no idea what to think about this new Psychic/Flying…whatever it is.  I do like the fact that it learns a lot of interesting moves…but still doesn’t fully stand out for me besides it’s outside look which is still freaky to me.  I think I’ll end up catching it since it’s kind of cool looking to me.

068: Yamask, 069: Cofagrigus

I’m still pretty disappointed that Cofagrigus didn’t get a secondary type and just stuck with being a pure Ghost type.  Anyway, the idea of Ancient Egypt being the ideas for both Yamask and Cofagrigus is great and they look great with an interesting ability with Mummy (an ability that forces their opponent to also have Mummy as an ability).  There is one thing that’s gonna bother me for a while and that’s how do we pronounce Cofagrigus? It’s too weird of a combination of things…

In Gen 8, we do get a Galarian Yamask which changes types to Ground/Ghost, but it luckily keeps its typing when it evolves into Runerigus (more on that in the Galar Dex).

070: Tirtouga. 071: Carracosta

So now we get into the Generation’s fossil PKMN starting with the Tirtouga line which is Water/Rock and while that’s nothing terribly new, it’s nice there doing a turtle for once (at least not since the Blastoise line).  I’m not sure that blue would’ve been the color I would’ve chosen for Tirtouga and Carracosta (too close to the aforementioned other Pokemon)…but I think they’re alright for now.

072: Archen, 073: Archeops

As for the other fossil Pokemon that’s Rock/Flying (ho crap does Aerodactyl have some competition), Archen and Archeops are beasts and their Attack really shows it for sure, though its ability (Klutz) makes it risky to use since if it goes under half its HP, then its stats are cut.  I love the artwork for these two and especially with Archen who’s cuuute.  Still, I think I still will end up choosing Tirtouga since I like turtles more than archeopteryx XD

074: Trubbish. 075: Garbodor

Closing out this quarter set, we get trash Pokemon…I mean literally they’re based off of damn trash!  Trubbish has charm and it’s cute but Garbodor is just horrific for me…I just wonder who thought it was a smart idea to make this a PKMN.  Of and of course they’re the only pure Poison types in the game which to me make it seem they’re making a parallel to Grimer and Muk.  Who knows.

Gen 8 introduces a Gigantamax Garbodor and boy is it wrecking!

WHOOHOO NEXT TIME THE NEXT 25-ish PKMN…there’s more to the madness?!?

 

MONKEY MAJIK – westview

Filed under: MONKEY MAJIK — solarblade @ 5:48 am

Track Listing

  1. Angel
  2. The Man You Were
  3. Sunshine
  4. Yume no Sekai
  5. Mahou no Kotoba
  6. Runaway
  7. Disco Girl
  8. Wonderland
  9. Everything is going to be alright
  10. the party’s over
  11. One Day
  12. Safari
  13. If I Knew
  14. HALO

1. Angel

Opening MOMAJIK’s album up, Angel quickly gets into things quickly and while it sounds pretty much basic against the things I’ve heard from the previous to the album and Angel is soft and easy to enjoy.  Of course Blaise is singing of course and his sounds just like he has been in the singles, but I don’t find it so bad.  It’s a very simple song for me and it’s not a bold attempt to kick the album off.

2. The Man You Were

As you guess, we get into the album’s shortest song off the album and The Man You Were is sung by Maynard which is a nice surprise for once.  Of course since the song is fully in English, there’s not many problems going on and I loved the combination of the brothers together.  Suffice to say, it’s a good song, but short.

3. Sunshine

I found it very weird that MOMAJIK only really added one A-side to the album (OK, I know there was a best-of album through it…but seriously?).  Since there’s no other A-side to compare to really, it’s alright…but the singles promoting the best-of were so much better than Sunshine.  Of course Blaise leads the song of course, but Iono…there’s just something missing for me in the song, but I like the kind of rapping feel it has.  It’s alright for the time being.

4. Yume no Sekai

As the album’s promotional track, Yume no Sekai is the album’s first ballad and of course I’m kind of torn between this song since it’s pretty, but Blaise’s Japanese is kind of odd to listen to…it might because he’s so white and such.  I’m not fully into MOMAJIK ballads for the most part and this kind of made me bored…but I can see where people would enjoy it.

5. Mahou no Kotoba

Maynard returns to lead a song with Mahou no Kotoba and the song gives the song a much relaxed feeling and is that him singing a bit faster than I thought so?  It gets even cooler when he starts to singin in English in the second and mixing it with Blaise.  It’s a good track for sure.

6. Runaway

Kind of taking on a similar feel that “Mahou no Kotoba” had, Runaway doesn’t do too much to fully stand out for me, but it’s still not so bad since the English lines are pretty good to the ears.  Blaise’s singing does feel a little out of place in various areas…but whatever hahaha.

7. Disco Girl

Finally we get something that has a lot of things going for it, Disco Girl is the first thing that feels edgy from the group since “MONSTER”.  I do love they chose to sing this in English since the lyrics are pretty cool and has a lot of flow to it.  While there’s not a lot of Maynard really, this is still one of the album’s better songs.

8. Wonderland

Whenever we get titles like this, it makes me think of sugary songs.  MOMAJIK’s Wonderland is a bit cute and oddly enough give me similarities to Plain White T’s “Rhythm of Love” since there’s not a lot of the band and has an acousitc feel that gives off a feelgood atmosphere.  Besides the weird case of dejavu, Wonderland’s not that bad and does Blaise very well.

9. Everything is going to be alright

I guess “Sunshine” wasn’t enough for the band to have a summery kind of song.  Everything is going to be alright seems to sound more like a love song though and I thought it was pretty cute to have a song like this…but honestly, Maynard would’ve been more perfect for a song like this for some reason. 

10. the party’s over

So we go back down to acoustic happiness ala “Wonderland” with the party’s over?  I’ve kind of enjoyed this song since Maynard leads the song instead and while he doesn’t fully sound interested in the song as much as Blaise did in said song, he doesn’t do half bad. 

11. One Day

Omg, synths in a song that isn’t “Sunshine”?  One Day feels so good and refreshing after a lot of the songs that didn’t really pull my attention from the album.  I like the amount of mixtures between the Plant brothers and Blaise sounds a lot better than he has been.  Pretty song overall and one of my favorites.

12. Safari

Another acoustic track pops up next in Safari and it does kind of have this African adventure kind of feel to it that I enjoyed a lot a bit and hey, a return of the guys in Japanese!  While at first I had trouble distinguishing who was singing, it turned to be Blaise.  Could it almost sound like a little folkish?  It’s an enjoyable soft song and one I could see myself repeating over and over again in listens.

13. If I Knew

I think If I Knew feels like a parallel to “Safari” since Maynard leads this instead and the mood and arranging styles are similar to one another.  Maynard’s softer vocals fit the mood of the song entirely and I just loved how smooth and soft and just relaxing it came off as.  Definitely is a song that speaks to me so hehehe!

14. HALO

Closing the album, HALO definitely fits the idea of closing westview up on a good note.  To me, it does seem slightly familiar to “One Day” with the piano being the main focal point of the song’s arrangement.  It wraps up the album nicely and since Blaise closes the album, it was a good song for so.

Tracks Recommended

  • If I Knew
  • Safari
  • Disco Girl
  • One Day
  • The Man You Were

Song of Avoidance

  • Yume no Sekai

I don’t know what is it, but I liked a lot of the singles I reviewed on the site and yet…3 of the 4 singles never got added on the album because of the best-of album that was released beforehand.  I’ll be honest, the album songs didn’t live up to my expectations because I was hoping for stuff that was done through the singles.  It felt too soft for me for most of it and while I like Blaise, Maynard NEEDS MORE SONGS!…I know about blanc., but still…

 

Masami Okui – Self Satisfaction II

Filed under: Masami Okui — solarblade @ 1:14 am

Track Listing

  1. Cosmic Dance
  2. Garden of Eden
  3. Fates
  4. Beloved
  5. Hi no Hana
  6. Still Love
  7. DEAD or ALIVE
  8. Happy Days
  9. GRADUATION
  10. Utakata
  11. KOHAKU
  12. Satisfaction

1. Cosmic Dance

Beginning Masami’s 3rd cover album, Cosmic Dance (a sort of self-cover since she’s a part of JAM PROJECT) opens the album with a nice ethereal opening with an interesting ad-lib section from Masami.  I like the ocarina insert that comes in and out.  I find the instruments that are used in the song to be so different.  I like when she does finally start to sing in the song and even though it’s more of a mid-tempo kind of song, it still is pretty damn strong.

2. Garden of Eden

Now despite never hearing ANY of these songs that Makkun is covering, it’s still a good treat.  Garden of Eden really reminds me of various GUNDAM themes and Masami sounds amazing since she transformed the song into her own.  It’s still one of the coolest tracks off the album and one of Masami’s best since joining Lantis.

3. Fates

Slowing down a bit from “Garden of Eden”, Fates is definitely reminescent of Makkun’s main stuff with the whole slow anime track that has a powerful chorus.  As much as I enjoy Masami’s songs that have this style, it just seems very boring after the first two tracks.  Sorry to say.

4. Beloved

Let’s tone things down even further with Beloved with is more of an acoustic-based song than the previous songs.  I kind of like this stripped down setting for Makkun and she of course sounds pretty strong even with the chorus adds more music to things.  It’s a pretty good ballad and I wouldn’t have expected less.

5. Hi no Hana

Makkun opening a song in acappella?  I don’t know why but I didn’t like her airy start to the song to be frank since it was just pitchy.  While not much of a ballad like “Beloved” was, it’s still soft but I don’t exactly find this song to be better than said song even though the sitar did make it slightly stand out.  I still think “Beloved” is much memorable.

6. Still Love

I’m now starting to now realize that I’m starting to feel the same way about this album against the previous “Self Satisfaction”.  Too many ballads/slow songs bunched up together.  There’s even less to remember about this cover at all since it’s kind of like an R&B ballad, but very diluted it seems.  I think right now, Still Love is the album’s worst song.

7. DEAD or ALIVE

I’m so happy to get out of the slow section of the album because DEAD or ALIVE was the boost of energy that I needed to wake up from those tracks.  With a very hard rock atmosphere (seeing as it’s a cover from The Idolm@aster, it’s just in your face and pure energy.  Masami’s vocals really just pop out at you with the guitar riffs and pounding drums.  Gotta say, it impressed me quite a bit.

8. Happy Days

I’m kind of surprised we haven’t totally had a happy pop song from Makkun on the album until now.  It might not be as happy as one might think it’d be, but Happy Days is something that stands out on it’s own.  However, it features a lot of the same instruments that were found in the beginning of the album.  It might come off as forgetful, but it does stand out.

9. GRADUATION

I thought for such a title, GRADUATION was going to end up as a ballad, but it’s actually more of another happy song (even moreso than “Happy Days”).  However, I enjoyed this much more than the last track since the arrangement was more profound and stronger overall…plus I loved Makkun’s vocals a whole lot more…it might not be the best on the album, but it’s damn close XD

10. Utakata

Of course, we have to slow down for another set of ballads starting with Utakata which has beautiful strings to open the song up.  I think of the ballads on the album, this one has a much stronger and dramatic effect partially on both the arrangement and Masami’s tone.  I have to say it’s a great ballad on the album…but still doesn’t erase the fact there still is too many.

11. KOHAKU

Of course, KOHAKU is the other ballad found here.  I kind of enjoyed the oriental-like piano melody that opens the song…but sadly it’s the only true thing that makes it stand amongst the ballads.  I also do think she gave an amazing vocal performance despite the lack of an interesting arrangement.  I’m kind of stuck whether it’s a great song or just there because of Masami’s awesome vocals.  I think it’ll grow on me since it’s getting better with each listen.

12. Satisfaction

Closing the album with a title track, Satisfaction surprised me because it sounds like a mix of “Garden of Eden” and “GRADUTATION” since it’s edgy and kind of anime-upbeat in a way.  The energy is definitely there, but there’s something about it that’s off about it.  I could totally see this performed live and with tons of enthusiasm!

Tracks Recommended

  • Garden of Eden
  • GRADUATION
  • DEAD or ALIVE
  • Cosmic Dance
  • Utakata

Song of Avoidance

  • Still Love

For being Makkun’s 3rd cover album, I once again found myself not knowing ANY of the covers (same thing happened with the first “Self Satisfaction”) so I can’t say if she did justice to the songs or not, but for the most part, this felt better than the first.  I still think she’s added too many ballads once again and they were some of the weaker entries in the album.  Hopefully she’ll start to release singles again (It’s been a while since “Renka Tairan” came out…).