Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Ayaka Hirahara – my Classics! June 10, 2010

Filed under: Ayaka Hirahara — solarblade @ 2:46 am

Track Listing

  1. pavane ~ Naki Oujo no Tame no Pavane
  2. MIO AMORE!
  3. Campanula no Koi
  4. Romeo to Juliet
  5. Scheherazade
  6. Moldau
  7. Kamen Botoukai
  8. AVE MARIA
  9. Shinsekai
  10. Siciliana
  11. Nocturne
  12. Jupiter

1. pavane ~ Naki Oujo no Tame no Pavane

Beginning this album, pavane is more or less what I’ve been hearing from Ayaka since I started reviewing her.  It’s a simple ballad no less, but with some pretty strings.  While the muffled percussion helps out, the song is otherwise not that exciting, but I could handle listening to this.

2. MIO AMORE!

I guess replacing the strings with some guitar isn’t much of a change when you really think about it.  At least the song is a bit stronger and a tad more upbeat.  It still fails to make a full impression on me, but the electric guitar solo in the song was enough to wake me up from almost falling asleep.

3. Campanula no Koi

Now this album features a collection of songs that sample some really old classical tune.  I thought the album was going to just be filled with the singles that were released during the era.  I guess I was wrong because Campanula no Koi is on here and it was from her “Path of Independence” era.  Also, noting quickly that this tune is an English version of “Nocturne” which both were A-sides.  It’s always been a really pretty song for me and its inclusion was pretty fitting.  I do love the fact Ayaka can pull off English as well as she can.  Definitely a favorite of mine.

4. Romeo to Juliet

Getting back to some new tracks, Romeo to Juliet sounds very melancholic and the way it flows is almost mysterious at first, but opens into this rockish arrangement.  I didn’t expect this song to have such a wild sound to it.  The way Ayaka’s vocals are sounding adds this sense of hostility and I’ll admit…way epic! 

5. Scheherazade

It seems the new songs off the album has a lot more effort put into them than the singles preceding it.  Scheherazade is just as pretty as “Campanula no Koi” in the way that it flows majestically and almost seems dream-like to me.  I’ll say, this song might be her best ballad so far on the album.

6. Moldau

Being the B-side from “MIO AMORE!”, Moldau continues this string of great ballads.  It’s a stark contrast from “Scheherazade” in that that song was beautful of hopeful and optimistc.  Moldau however, is quite the opposite, cold, lonesome and the feel of sadness is there as well.  I loved that the album’s arranger chose to put this track after to show the mood switch. 

7. Kamen Butoukai

I’m not sure how to really describe Kamen Butoukai because it’s upbeat, but not really, but has this waltz feel to it.  It’s different (like a lot of the songs on the album).  There’s just something very ethnic about it that sounds like fun.  I mean there’s a part where there’s this small latin part before getting back to it’s Italian feel.  Interesting tune overall.

8. AVE MARIA

As the B-side to “Shinsekai”, AVE MARIA has always been a tune that zones me out because most of the covers of the Christmas tune has always been boring and not worth listening in full.  Ayaka’s take of this classic always has been one of the better ones however because it sounds rather dark for a tune that’s been well-known since forever.  I’m still not the most amazed fan of the song, but it’s alright and since it gets updated later on in her career, this kind of is rendered obsolete now.

9. Shinsekai

Then we get into the first A-side of the era.  Shinsekai brings us back to the basic ballad arrangement and even so it’s kind of meh.  At least it picks up after a while and changes the song for the better.  I don’t know why she couldn’t just start off the song with the upbeat section…good song, but the first half was just unnecessary and a little long past 7 minutes…

10. Siciliana

I was surprised she included this tune (originally from her 4th album, “Sora”).  I actually enjoyed the opening for this song as it was only piano and strings together.  Just like “pavane” it’s just a simple ballad more than anything and while I’m starting to get a little tired of hearing this, it’s actually pretty and reminds me of winter.  Very chilling and yet sweet. 

11. Nocturne

Ahhh, Nocturne.  I’m not sure why she did include both A-side here, but I loved Nocturne just as much as “Campanula no Koi” the only differences is the way it begins, the language, and of course the mood of the song.  It’s a little bit like its sister A-side, but after the piano opening and the first verse of the song, it turns into a light R&B tune which gives it a big difference to said other song.  I do think the other A-side was prettier, but this was really nice as well.

12. Jupiter

Of course ending this concept album, Jupiter (Ayaka’s debut single) is featured.  This song has always been a fan favorite and still is her highest selling single.  I can see why this song is pretty epic as well.  Compared to the other songs off the album, this has this outworldly feel as a ballad and it worked for me.  Her vocals also sound a little different here compared to the later songs.  This ranks up there as being one of the best J-pop ballads ever done!  Though in reality I actually prefer “Campanula no Koi” just a smidge more hahaha

Tracks Recommended

  • Camapanula no Koi
  • Jupiter
  • Scheherazade
  • Romeo to Juliet
  • Moldau

Song of Avoidance

  • MIO AMORE!

Yes, I crashed and decided to review this before getting into the 2nd one.  I think my Classics! as a concept album worked for her because it showed various melodies working together and with Ayaka’s professional vocals, it mostly worked.  However, I can’t take all these ballads in one sitting y’know?  Still some of Ayaka’s finest works are on here so that’s a plus.