Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Nana Mizuki – Junketsu Paradox August 2, 2011

Filed under: Nana Mizuki — solarblade @ 1:51 am

Track Listing

  1. Junketsu Paradox
  2. 7COLORS
  3. Stay Gold

1. Junketsu Paradox

I wasn’t expecting Nana to release another strong orchestral animu track for her next A-side, but I felt she took a safer route for this song than she did with songs like “SCARLET KNIGHT” but that’s ok because this track sounds clear and straightforward and doesn’t have Nana doing aerial vocal flips like she sometimes does in her songs.  So I’m essentially happy with this song and I feel like it’s one of her better A-sides she’s had in a while.

2. 7COLORS

It has been a while since we’ve had a quote on quote “cute” song from Nana and 7COLORS fills that role pretty smoothly but like I said about “Junketsu Paradox” it felt she took it safe as well and didn’t overflow it with her seiyuu style like she’s done in previous attempts.  It’s simple, cute and breezy of a B-side from Nana, not bad, but nothing that screams repeat it.

3. Stay Gold

Is it odd enough that I think the only song she didn’t play safe was the second B-side?  No it’s not a cover of either Nami’s or Hikki’s tune of the same name so don’t question that either lol.  It’s kind of like the stuff I would’ve expected to hear on “IMPACT EXCITER”…yeah it’s one of those anime strings/pop tracks but at the same time I love the movement of the song, fluid and smooth.  But yeah it fits with “Silent Bible” and PHANTOM MINDS” and the like.  Not bad though.

 

 

Nana might have taken the safe route for Junketsu Paradox as a whole, but it’s definitely nothing to frown about because all three songs sounded pretty nice overall and left a good impression on me (a little better than both “SCARLET KNIGHT” and “POP MASTER”).  I wonder what’s next for our epic seiyuu?