Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Safarii – Mou Ichido Waraeru Kara September 18, 2011

Filed under: Safarii — solarblade @ 8:47 pm

Track Listing

  1. BAD DAY
  2. Fly away
  3. bye bye
  4. HANA ~Kimi ni Deatta Kiseki~
  5. Message
  6. Rain
  7. Nada Sousou
  8. Natsu no Owari, Koi no Owari
  9. Glitter
  10. Dear
  11. Broken Glass
  12. Epilogue
  13. We need love song

1. BAD DAY

I find it funny that the album opens with the trio’s 3rd and final A-side released for the era.  To me it stands out the most for me because unlike the other singles, this is upbeat and has a funky vibe going for it.  I also love that Sophia takes lead for the song while AK takes the bridges.  I liked her a lot more than him in this song since he didn’t fit with his part.  A great opening here!

2. Fly away

Our next song though is more of what I’ve been wanting to hear from them and it’s more upbeat (but not at the same happy party vibe that “BAD DAY” has).  If I didn’t know better and if AK wasn’t a part of the song, it would literally sound like a Miliyah Kato song but I’m ok with that because with how many slow songs I’ve heard…new upbeat songs are great to have.  I like this tune a lot!

3. bye bye

bye bye comes in next with a pretty calm vibe and takes up more of the R&B genre this time.  It does seem that AK and Obi rap and sing in this one and they sound pretty good for the most part and once Sophia enters in at the chorus I feel like this is a much better song than some of their B-sides they’ve had but not enough to stand out like the previous two songs. 

4. HANA ~Kimi ni Deatta Kiseki~

As I learned from reviewing its single, HANA is actually an answer song for ORANGE RANGE’s “Hana”.  It shares some of the arrangement and the chorus is the same but different with the verses for AK (or Obi…I can’t tell) singing the song.  It’s still quite good and even though I did end of preferring “BAD DAY” over this, it’s definitely a good A-side as well.

5. Message

It seems they’re getting slower and slower and Message marks as an actual ballad from the trio.  Message is really pretty of a song if not a little bland as well.  I mean I love the strings in this song but when it’s just AK and piano, I’m pretty damn bored while once Obi comes in, I’m brought back in ^_^.  It does kind of drag after a while, but it’s still a comforting track no doubt.

6. Rain

Let’s be honest, I think Safarii’s A-sides of their sophomore album have been great and hasn’t let me down since it’s pretty difficult to decide which was the best and least favorite!  Rain for me stood out quite brightly because of it’s light reggae flavoring.  I liked that both male members led this song through the verses while Sophia blows through the chorus.  It’s a pretty song and I think it did better than “HANA” did to be honest.

7. Nada Sousou

It should come as no surprise that track 7 is a cover of the big BEGIN song of the same name.  Now I remember alan’s version of this song quite fondly and Sophia’s take of the song does not sound as good as I thought it would be.  Not saying it’s bad, but it’s more upbeat I guess?  All three members join her in the chorus which is nice, but I’m still not thinking this is a great cover.

8. Natsu no Owari, Koi no Owari

Ahhh the sounds of waves and acoustic guitar open up our next song and it stays as a breezy beach song with AK leading the verses.  It’s a pretty safe song for me and just kind of moves slightly like “HANA” but a bit more happier.  Yeah, this feels too safe and kind of too boring for me lol.

9. Glitter

I’m starting to get a little weary of these acoustic songs but Glitter at least tries to set itself apart from the others by bringing back synths and a dance beat and it actually works for me at this point since it sounds like “Fly away” but much brighter.  Sophia takes up the first verse while the other two guys take the second.  It really did wake me up after those last few songs!

10. Dear

So it seems they’ve added B-sides to the album starting with Dear from “HANA”.  It does remind me of “Rain” with such an interesting genre style (light reggaeton) but it actually works since everyone is singing and sounding very pleasant.  The weakest part for me was Sophia in the chorus…it sounds cheezy and kind of bland at the same time.  It’s nice overall however.

11. Broken Glass

Back to R&B, this is reminding me of “HANA” as well since it’s soft and this time around includes some finger snapping and a light arrangement.  Other than the smooth vocals from all three members, this song just flies by my ears and doesn’t leave much of an impression on me sadly enough.

12. Epilogue

You’d think they’d put a song with a title like this at the end, but it’s the track before the finale.  Like I said on the “Rain” review, Epilogue is simple, yet sweet but nothing I’d totally remember since it’s just that.  It falls into the other songs into this forgetful vibe.  I rather have had kept it on its respective single than adding it to the album.

13. We need love song

Closing out the album we another song that begins with waves crashing, We need love song (failed English aside) We need love song tries to end the album on a happy note and it does but likewise, Rain does this so much better for me.  AK does his rapping of course and it moves the song quicker than whenever Sophia sings but I still don’t remember it at the end of the day.

Tracks Recommended

  • Fly away
  • BAD DAY
  • Glitter
  • Rain
  • Message

Song of Avoidance

  • Natsu no Owari, Koi no Owari

As Mou Ichido Waraeru Kara is the trio’s sophomore effort, I was kind of unimpressed with this album.  Their upbeat songs really do stand out a lot more than their soft and acoustic-based songs which doesn’t surprise me because all three of their vocals seem more suited than most of the tracks on here.  Ehhh, it was ok…nothing special really.