Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Sakanaction – Identity September 27, 2011

Filed under: Sakanaction — solarblade @ 8:23 pm

Track Listing

  1. Identity
  2. Holy Dance
  3. YES NO (AOKI takamasa Remix)

1. Identity

For my main introduction to the band, Identity is quite interesting that’s for sure.  I liked the mix of the band’s interesting take on the rock style mixed with tribal drums and an ethereal background in the chorus.  It’s pretty loud and moving and hearing Emi play the keyboard gives the tune more color.  It isn’t as amazing as “A Look Around” was but this is a good tune otherwise.

2. Holy Dance

However, they get more experimental with Holy Dance which switches the rock sound with Emi synths and such and it turned out to be an interesting move because this song’s odd arrangement actually worked for them.  I wished it stayed consistent because it gets really weird in the songs mid-section and interlude.  It just was strange all over the place and yet I liked it!

3. YES NO (AOKI takamasa Remix)

Closing the single is a remix of an album song off their last album “kikUUiki”.  Like the previous song there’s more of a pronounced feeling of experimentation clearly since this is a remix.  I didn’t hear the original so I’m not sure how much of a change happened but this is a very minimalistic track I’ve come to noticed.  So it’s not as exciting really.

 

 

Sakanaction’s first single of the “DocumentaLy” era will take a little time to get used to since Identity was a little odd being tribal, yet more focused on their rock side of their music.  Holy Dance though is my favorite off the single with the synths and strange atmosphere it gives off.  The remix for YES NO was a little boring and bare to listen to.  Strange single but I guess it works?

 

SPYAIR – Rockin’ the World

Filed under: SPYAIR — solarblade @ 7:33 am

Track Listing

  1. Rockin’ the World
  2. Japanication
  3. Samurai Heart (Some Like It Hot!!)
  4. BEAUTIFUL DAYS
  5. STRONG
  6. LIAR
  7. Stay together
  8. Beautiful
  9. I miss you
  10. Last Moment
  11. SINGING (album mix)
  12. My Friend

1. Rockin’ the World

As a short introduction to their album, Rockin’ the World does a good job showing what the album is all about.  I love Ike’s strong yells of the title in the beginning before UZ (their guitaris) enters the song with more force.  It’s a nice and explosive intro for sure and leads into the next song quite nicely.

2. Japanication

Since this is the oldest song on the album (yeah I know it’s the band’s 3rd single, but it was also their 2nd indies A-side so that’s why I say it’s the oldest on the album).  I’m not surprised that it still is one of their shortest songs (shortest on this album actually, only two seconds shorter than “STRONG” actually).  It’s still pretty damn powerful and quite electryfying of a song with its aggressive hooks and loud vocals from Ike.

3. Samurai Heart (Some Like It Hot!!)

As this was my first SPYAIR song, Samurai Heart still leaves me in a good mood whenever I listen to this because unlike their other A-sides, this is more fun and light-hearted.  It’s pretty funny that there’s kids chanting the title at the beginning and such.  It still stands as one of my favorite songs from the group so that’s pretty awesome right?!?

4. BEAUTIFUL DAYS

As the band’s fifth A-side released, BEAUTIFUL DAYS ties with “LIAR” as least favorite of the era.  I’m not sure why but when bands like this pull off more of the slower rock tunes the energy and/or interest dies off and it shows quite prominently in this tune.  Ike doesn’t seem into the song as he was in the previous two either.  Yeah, just not into this one much.

5. STRONG

After three previously released tunes, it’s nice to get into one new track with STRONG which I said earlier is two seconds longer than “Japanication” so it’s pretty damn short lol.  I’m happy they came back to a really hard song like this for some reason.  They really can tackle tracks that have a edgier arrangement since the band fits better as well.  Ike’s energy is also back so it’s a positive thing and hearing synths in and out of the song is also awesome!  Short but awesomes!

6. LIAR

Which leads to the band’s first A-side when they switched to SONY.  I do think that of the A-sides released, LIAR was pretty basic rock music and it surprised me that the other singles (including “BEAUTIFUL DAYS”) brought something quite exciting and fresh to the table.  I mean if it wasn’t for Ike’s unique vocals…I would’ve called this an easy UVER song, or FLOW, or any anime-rock band.

7. Stay together

Three new tracks come next starting with Stay together which is mostly light like “BEAUTIFUL DAYS” but not as bland here.  I like the acoustic tune quite nicely and while Ike takes a little while to get used to his vocals since they sound aggressive still lol.  It does feel short though which is kind of weird but ok.  It kind of just flies by for me.

8. Beautiful

Another song with *beautiful* in its title?  I think this song is definitely something the band hasn’t fully tackled yet and I kind of like this style of rock for some reason.  It shows Enzel a bit more than the previous songs that’s for sure.  It’s what if they did “BEAUTIFUL DAYS” a LOT better.  Yeah, I do like this song a bit lol.

9. I miss you

Now this I can say is a rock ballad from SPYAIR because there’s strings and piano all over its arrangement mixed in with the members of the band.  Now I can say that Ike actually calmed his vocals down which is a great thing.  It’s a lot stronger than their first try earlier in the album that’s for sure. 

10. Last Moment

Second A-side released and it still reigns as my favorite of the era!  It actually moved from the softness from “I miss you” into the aggressive and electro-based tune.  Ike’s vocals once again fits the style perfectly and hearing Enzel doing a bit more once again makes me smile lol.  Hey, this is what the bands need is more catchy arrangements and more ~na nas~ LOL.  Yeah, best song off the album I think.

11. SINGING (album mix)

I’m surprised they brought SINGING from the “LIAR” single to the album and I actually don’t really notice the changes here actually.  Besides that it sounds clearer and the guitars do provide a little more sound as well.  Even the guitar solo sounds amazing now.  I guess the change was needed because everything sounds a lot nicer from it.  It’s definitely a nice change and surprisingly still is one of my favorite B-sides from the group.

12. My Friend

Gotta love the fact that Ike started the song off in acappella before the band slowly comes in to join him at the beginning.  Even the sounds of nature was an interesting throw in before the *boom boom clap* rhythm of the song kicks up.  I can totally see this performed in concert with the crowd going along with the beats.  This is definitely my style of song and it closes the song in a fun and rockin’ way!

Tracks Recommended

  • Last Moment
  • STRONG
  • SINGING (album mix)
  • Japanication
  • Beautiful

Song of Avoidance

  • BEAUTIFUL DAYS

Since this isn’t SPYAIR first album, but is their first major album, Rockin’ the World was pretty damn impressive for a group that really shoved to the side because of their easy to figure out music.  SPYAIR is more like perfecting the genre along with ONE OK ROCK.  I think they can be quite popular if they continue to release songs because they have something good with Ike’s gritty vocals the overall rock feel and Enzel’s DJ-ing-synth stuff goin.  Maybe a little more experimentation in the field would do them good I think!  Still very solid album!

 

m.o.v.e – anim.o.v.e 03

Filed under: m.o.v.e — solarblade @ 3:22 am

Track Listing

  1. LOVE SHOWER / m.o.v.e feat. Yukari Tamura
  2. DOGFIGHT (Dogma Fight “Gothic Version 2011”)
  3. RHYTHM EMOTION
  4. Winners
  5. Naraku no Hana
  6. Prism
  7. City Hunter ~Ai yo Kienai de~
  8. DAYS
  9. only my railgun
  10. Hikari e
  11. Futari ga Wasurenai

1. LOVE SHOWER / m.o.v.e feat. Yukari Tamura

Is this the only rather “new” song off this album…the first song?  LOVE SHOWER is of course also the only collaboration tune on the album (shocking compared to the previous two cover albums).  I know Yukaru Tamura is also an artist (mainly anison).  I like how it starts with a storm but was oddly surprised at how it worked.  Of course motsu is the MC while the two ladies take over.  Since the main focus is on yuri and Yukari, I must say the difference in their vocals is quite obvious: Yukari’s is higher-pitched like seiyuus and yuri’s is more deeper.  It’s interesting that the tune is like pico-pop but more synths are involved.  I don’t think it makes for a good opening song tbh…but it’s OK.

2. DOGFIGHT (Dogma Fight “Gothic Version 2011”)

Second track and we get a self-cover of m.o.v.e’s awesome track DOGFIGHT!  I will admit that I love the original to death so seeing a new version does worry me a bit.  That being said, that worry does come up a little bit because the song isn’t as dark and furious as the original, but does have this gothic touch.  Sadly, it took out the angry guitars and harder percussion for more of a dance beat mixed with strings.  I do think hearing the song being resung was an interesting decision.  As much as it disappoints me from the original, it’s actually likeable.

3. RHYTHM EMOTION

Now we’re at the cover songs starting with one of the most amazing GUNDAM themes with TWO-MIX’s RHYTHM EMOTION.  To me, anyone covering it is never going to surpass the original.  m.o.v.e’s version does kind of take from the original which is a godsend but somehow this cover feels so empty and could have a lot more going on.  yuri also doesn’t really do a good job covering Minami’s original vocals.  This to me is just a weak cover IMO.

4. Winners

I liked G-GRIP’s original version of Winners when it was the ending theme for Future GPX Cyber Formula and since m.o.v.e is also known for their themes to Initial D, this was kind of an obvious choice to cover.  I love this cover since they sped this song up a little more and gave some oomph to it.  yuri also makes the original singer a bit meh as well.  Gotta say, after the rather bleh GUNDAM cover this makes up for it!

5. Naraku no Hana

LOL, are they really covering Eiko Shimamiya’s most recognizable track here?!?  Clearly I don’t think yuri would really do justice because Eiko’s has a pretty strong voice in the anime community.  While m.o.v.e’s version is a bit more louder, I think it worked in a strange way.  I actually liked yuri’s vocals and motsu’s exclusive rap in the song made the tune a bit more darker as well.  Another good cover here.

6. Prism

I was interested in hearing m.o.v.e’s cover of Ayako Ikeda’s Prism from Dennou Coil…but I have not heard the original so I can’t exactly compare.  After “Naraku no Hana”, I wasn’t surprised that they would get more ethereal and quiet with this tune.  It’s actually quite nice and pretty…even mysterious oooOOOOooo.  motsu could’ve been better without his presence but this is a worthy cover I think.

7. City Hunter ~Ai yo Kienai de~

I’ve heard of City Hunter before but I never heard of this song which was made for the anime hmmmm.  Doing Kohoru Kohiruimaki’s original tune, City Hunter sounds pretty dated in m.o.v.e’s version which might be a good thing and yuri does a great job singing this one since she sounds stronger than in previous tunes.  It just sounds really old on this album which makes it stick out on the album I think…and I blame the brass on that part!

8. DAYS

Hey! It’s a FLOW cover!!!  Sadly, it’s m.o.v.e covering DAYS lol.  I’m not used to females covering a male song so it comes as no surprise that DAYS sounds weird coming from yuri and all that.  Even though FLOW’s song isn’t that old, this feels dated as well which kind of makes it a little harder for me to enjoy.  PASS!

9. only my railgun

Hahaha, everyone should know that this is still my favorite fripSide song still.  I’m surprised the introduction to only my railgun is so long here XD.  I do like that the cover is at the same tempo here.  Of course I was also not surprised yuri’s deeper tones would actually fit here more than Yoshino’s.  Overall it works, but I still consider the original a bit more.  This one needed a little more punch

10. Hikari e

I think of all the songs on the cover album, Hikari e was the surprise of the album since I didn’t think they’d cover a One Piece tune.  The original was from The Babystars and since it was a bit pop/rock it was an amazing intro to the anime.  m.o.v.e’s version does stick to the original, but it feels cheaply made as well since it lost the energy the original had (like a few other covers they’ve done).  I’m not too disappointed since I was expecting this to happen, but it wasn’t terrible…let’s put it that way.

11. Futari ga Wasurenai

I found it awesome that the duo decided to cover Aki Misato’s ending theme from Gunparade Orchestra since it’s one of Aki’s more well-known tunes.  Funny enough since this ends the album since it’s a strings-ballad and yuri does quite a good job singing to this tune since her voice fits the style.  motsu’s rapping was also interesting to hear as well.  I’d say this closed the album quite nicely.

Tracks Recommended

  • Winners
  • Naraku no Hana
  • Futari ga Wasurenai
  • DOGFIGHT “Dogma Fight “Gothic Version 2011”)
  • Prism

Song of Avoidance

  • DAYS

I don’t know why but I think anim.o.v.e 03 is the best released of the anime cover albums, but there’s still things that has to be worked on and it’s mostly in T.Kimuras production of the covers.  Most of them felt really weak arrangement-wise and felt a little boring compared to the originals (maybe not the ballads like Naraku no Hana, Futari ga Wasurenai, and Prism.  Seriously though, the high-energy songs need to be kept that way and not be bland-i-fied.