Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Masami Okui – Love Axel July 24, 2012

Filed under: Masami Okui — solarblade @ 7:48 am

Track Listing

  1. GRATIA
  2. Good-bye crisis
  3. Dive To Future
  4. Natsuiro Love Song
  5. Sora ~Ikite Ireba~
  6. LIAR GIRL
  7. Sigh of Angel
  8. Dear
  9. Dogma
  10. BI-YA-KU
  11. Renka Tairan
  12. Migimawari Shinkakei
  13. Real☆Starter

1. GRATIA

Well, it’s interesting to see Makkun open up the album with an introductory song with GRATIA.  Adding in the fact that it’s so mysterious and sounds like some kind of traditional chanting stuff (like Akiko Shikata) and you get an odd yet interesting intro to Love Axel.  Pretty though and leads into our first track nicely.

2. Good-bye crisis

The first full song on the album and it’s Good-bye crisis which was a digital single that was released at the end of 2010.  I never got to hear the song when it was released back then so it left me to wait until this was released on the album and the song is definitely anison at its best.  I will say that I love the guitars and speed of the song alongside Makkun’s strong vocals.  It’s a powerful track and a great way to kick things off!

3. Dive To Future

I gotta say that Dive To Future kind of cheeses things up by slowing things down a tad bit and gives us this acoustic guitar anime song which I guess sounds all right but there’s something rather bland about the song that I can’t seem to shake off.  I don’t know Masami’s vocals aren’t as charged like the ones in “Good-bye crisis”.  Oh well…

4. Natsuiro Love Song

It seemed to be the same problem with this song as well but it’s a bit more lighter than the previous track with a little more focus on the piano instead.  At least Masami’s vocals sound better here which made me enjoy the song a little better but it’s still kind of bland to me.

5. Sora ~Ikite Ireba~

Things keep going with Sora which goes back to more of an acoustic guitar style but there’s something about the song that sounds a lot better than the previous two tracks at least.  The chorus does feel a bit underwhelming but this is a much more eventful track IMO which isn’t saying much as well.

6. LIAR GIRL

LIAR GIRL comes next and I kind of like the pop/rock atmosphere from it because the guitar melody sounds like it gets a lot of melodies and it sounds good and upbeat as it should along with the synth lines found all over the place.  It’s a good aggressive but poppy song and I enjoyed it a lot!

7. Sigh of Angel

Weird getting into Sigh of Angel because I wasn’t expecting a song that has R&B elements to be a song on this album.  Sadly, once the chorus kicks in it feels like a clone of “Dive To Future” and “Sora”.  In a way, I do like the song because it’s new to me from Masami, but that chorus kind of messed things up it seems.

8. Dear

With a title like Dear, I was expecting this to be a ballad of sorts and funny enough that its what we got!  It’s interesting that it took this long to get to one but it sounds pretty since the first half is just Makkun with piano.  It’s a pretty song with a simple arrangement but memorable at the same time…a standout track for sure!

9. Dogma

However, the best song on the album is interestingly enough Dogma because it doesn’t sound like ANYTHING else on this album.  Actually, it sounds like an I’ve Sound producer had something to do with this because it sounds like a KOTOKO song, “SCREW”.  It’s a really cool techno track and Masami sounds really nice under this style. 

10. BI-YA-KU

I guess I said too much because our next track is also kind of techno-y in a way but not in the I’ve Sound way.  It’s like a toned down “Good-bye crisis” but with equal amounts of synths and guitars.  It’s a cool song as well and I like the chorus quite a bit.  Good tune!

11. Renka Tairan

It’s been over two years since this A-side was released (and the only one to represent the album oddly enough) and I still enjoy listening it today!  As for being on the album, for how old it is, it really does fit and sounds just as exciting if not more than “Good-bye crisis” actually.  Makkun just blows the song away and a good portion of the album into the dust.  One of the best tracks on the album!

12. Migimawari Shinkakei

However, I didn’t expect a happycore song to pop up (especially near the end of the album) and I must say that it’s the fastest track on the album and just hops back and forth on beats and Masami is keeping up with the song but it’s got cutesy yells in the background and just very anison all-around.  I’m not too big of a fan in the song but I like that it’s very peppy and different for Masami.

13. Real☆Starter

Ending the album, Real☆Starter kind of goes back to the front of the album with the pop/rock songs but also carries the lighter side as well which is quite nice.  It kind of reminds me of sphere’s music but only sung in one voice.  It’s a good closing song and her voice just sounds really strong!

Tracks Recommended

  • Dogma
  • Renka Tairan
  • Good-bye crisis
  • Dear
  • Real☆Starter

Song of Avoidance

  • Dive To Future

I have to say, this is probably my favorite Makkun album reviewed yet!  All of the songs are actually quite good this time around and she went out of her comfort zone for a couple of songs.  Definitely one of the stronger albums of the year right here.

 

JASMINE – Best Partner

Filed under: JASMINE — solarblade @ 1:56 am

Track Listing

  1. Best Partner
  2. B*TCH*S
  3. Touch me on the Beach
  4. Best Partner (Instrumental)

1. Best Partner

I have to say, I’ve been missing JASMINE something rough for a while so it’s nice that she returned with Best Partner which does go back to her early days with more of a R&B tinted song.  Adding the strings gave the tune more color which is awesome to hear.  I do like that it sounds like it’s a meaningful song like “ONE” was so that impressed me a lot again.  Definitely a good comeback tune!

2. B*TCH*S

Straightforward of a title eh JASMINE?  The first B-side reminds me of a harder “JEALOUS” for that intro it had.  I love how raunchy and badass this song can be and a little sexually forward is!  I am surprised at hearing her under auto-tune again but at least she powers it so much that it’s a cool effect.  I’m surprised she doesn’t cuss in the song considering the title, but damn this is hot!

3. Touch me on the Beach

Which follows into the other B-side which is sweet enough for me!  It’s a bit more danceable and to me it’s a lot catchier than “B*TCH*S” was actually.  I’m also loving JASMINE’s new style of singing, she gets this grittier and soulful tone and it’s awesome to hear!  This is just a fun song and just impressed me all over!

 

 

Wow a year passed by before JASMINE announced a new single after “ONLY YOU”…good lord…Best Partner is definitely her best single overall for a long time (and probably for me my favorite single she’s released altogether.  Best Partner is R&B in a good way and sounds so good to me.  B*TCH*S being more aggressive and in-your-face and Touch me on the Beach is the danceable summer soiree.  All three were really great and makes me hope she amps it up for the album ^_^ *RECOMMENDED*

 

AAA – 777 ~We can sing a song!~

Filed under: AAA — solarblade @ 1:24 am

Track Listing

  1. 777 ~We can a sing a song!~
  2. Birthday song
  3. 777 ~We can sing a song!~ (Instrumental)
  4. Birthday song (Instrumental)

1. 777 ~We can sing a song!~

Something that’s been missing for a while in AAA’s music is their typical summer song.  The last leading summer song was “Summer Revolution” which was all kinds of awesome even though it was Misako and Chiaki’s song for the most part.  I enjoy the happy vibes of the song and suits the season and kind of reminds me of “MUSIC!!!” in a good way.  It’s not a bad track at all and brings a much needed change in musical styles.

2. Birthday song

The B-side though is a bit more cheesier than I would’ve expected but then again a title like this isn’t really surprising.  I kind of only remember the line og ~happy birthday to you, omedetou~ which is a bit sad for me.  I mean I like some of it, but it’s boring like “Lights” and “WISHES” were for me. Oh yeah all the members say that line one at a time to throughout the later half of the song making it REALLY hard to enjoy.

 

 

Closing out the “777 -TRIPLE SEVEN-” era, We can sing a song! isn’t as awesome as “Still Love You” was but I enjoyed that they went for a summer tune for the A-side that’s for sure.  I’m actually getting tired of avexs songs that deal with birthdays because they are just all poor and cheesy.  AAA’s isn’t any better and I couldn’t remember anything but the main line that’s sung so much in the song.  At least it’s not on the album…phew.